Skip to content

Victoria A. Farrar-Myers


Dr. Victoria A. Farrar-Myers (No longer with the University)
Department of Political Science
Year Inducted: 2011
Phone: 817- 272-2991

Victoria A. Farrar-Myers, Ph.D. is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Texas at Arlington. She specializes in the American presidency, presidential-congressional relations, separation of powers, and campaign finance reform. Among her many publications, Dr. Farrar-Myers is the author of Scripted for Change: The Institutionalization of the American Presidency (Texas A&M Press), the co-author of Legislative Labyrinth: Congress and Campaign Finance Reform (CQ Press) and Limits and Loopholes: The Quest for Money, Free Speech and Fair Elections (CQ Press), and the co-editor of Corruption and American Politics (Cambria Press). Her research has been published in such journals as Political Research Quarterly, Congress & the Presidency, and White House Studies, and been supported by a grant from the Dirksen Congressional Center.

During 1997-1998, she served as an American Political Science Association Congressional Fellow, working on the legislative staff of Rep. Christopher Shays (CT). From 2005-2007, Dr. Farrar-Myers served as the coordinator for developing UT Arlington’s Quality Enhancement Plan, a campus-wide initiative designed to enhance student learning at the University, and prior to that was Associate Dean of the UT Arlington’s Honors College. Among her many teaching honors, she was the recipient of the 2001 University of Texas at Arlington's Chancellor's Council Award for Excellence in Teaching, the 2005 Arlington Star-Telegram Service Learning Award and the 2007 Honors College Faculty Award, and was named the TexasFaculty Member of the Year in 2007 by the Texas Association of College and University Student Personnel Administrators. She regularly provides commentary for local and national media outlets.