Skip to content

Kent Lawrence


Dr. Kent Lawrence
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Year Inducted: 2016
Phone: 817-272-2019

Kent L. Lawrence, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington, is a Life Fellow of ASME, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He joined Arlington State College as an Assistant Professor in 1961, was on leave from 1962 until rejoining the university in 1964. In 1968 he was appointed Associate Professor and a Professor in 1972. Lawrence has both industrial and academic experience and expertise in applied mechanics, finite element methods, vibration and structural dynamics and is the author/coauthor of three text books related to finite element methods and dynamic systems.

He was named most Valuable Professor by the UTA MAE Senior Class 2009-2010, was the Kalpana Chawla S.T.A.R. Award Winner 2007-2008, selected a Texas Piper Professor in 2006, UTA MAE Department Mechanical Engineering Teacher of the Year in 1983, Joint Council of Student Engineers-Outstanding Engineering Teacher in 1982, UTA Student Chapter Pi Tau Sigma Outstanding Teacher Award in 1981, Halliburton Education Foundation Award in 1981, and received the College of Engineering Outstanding Teaching Award in 1974. He was selected to participate in the National Science Foundation (NSF) Summer Institute in Advanced Mechanics in 1962 and was elected to the Academy of Mechanical Engineers, Texas Tech University in 1983.

During his tenure at UTA Professor Lawrence has developed and taught a number of undergraduate and graduate courses, served as graduate adviser for the Engineering Mechanics, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanical Engineering programs and served as Chair of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department.