Skip to content

Christopher Kribs


Dr. Christopher Kribs
Mathematics and Curriculum & Instruction
Year Inducted: 2017
Phone: 817-272-5513

Christopher Kribs received undergraduate degrees in electrical engineering and mathematics from Duke University, the M.S.E.E. in digital signal processing from Georgia Tech, and masters and doctoral degrees in mathematics from the University of Wisconsin (Madison). In between, he also taught high school math and science. 

AT UTA, Dr. Kribs is a professor in the Departments of Mathematics and Curriculum & Instruction. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in K-8 mathematics education and in mathematical modeling, and supervises student research in both areas. His teaching draws on educational research to help students construct their own understanding through inquiry. He has also taught at the Universidad de Colima in Mexico and the Universite de Lyon (UCBL1) in France. His teaching honors include the 2008 UTA Chancellor's Council Award for Innovation in Teaching, a 2016 UT System Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, and the 2017 UTA President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, as well as recognition by the Facultad de Ciencias de la Universidad de Colima. Dr. Kribs, who directs UTA's graduate program in K-8 mathematics education, has developed ten mathematics education courses at UTA and in 2015 published a textbook in mathematical biology. 

His interests within mathematical biology lie at the intersection of epidemiology and ecology, especially the transmission of vector-borne diseases, most notably Chagas disease. In mathematics education, he has published studies on the teaching and learning of division of fractions and the development of children's algebraic thinking; his current research interests center around classroom discourse. His research has been sponsored by grants from the National Science Foundation, the Norman Hackerman Advanced Research Program and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, as well as a Fulbright-Garcia Robles Fellowship and a Marie Curie Fellowship. Research awards also include several Outstanding Research Awards from UTA's College of Science, the 2010 Prix Sanofi-Pasteur, the 2016 UTA Distinguished Record of Research, and election to UTA's Academy of Distinguished Scholars. He has been inducted into Sigma Xi, Phi Beta Kappa, Tau Beta Pi, and Eta Kappa Nu.