Skip to content

Ramón López


Dr. Ramón López
Year Inducted: 2018


Ramón E. López received his B.S. in Physics in 1980 from the University of Illinois, and his Ph.D. in Space Physics in 1986 from Rice University. He is currently a Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) where he leads a research group that works in both space physics and science education. He is also a Co-Director for the UTeach Arlington teacher preparation program. His current research focuses solar wind-magnetosphere coupling and the application of research-based pedagogy to upper divison and graduate physics courses. Dr. Lopez is the author or co-author of over 120 peer-reviewed publications, as well as the popular science book “Storms from the Sun.” Dr. Lopez is active in promoting science education and diversity in science at all levels. He was one of the Co-Chairs of the writing team that produced the Next Generation Science Standards. He has also served on several scientific or education-related committees of the American Geophysical Union, the American Physical Society (APS), the National Academy of Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and he has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Society of the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS). He is the President of the National Society of Hispanic Physicists for 2018 and 2019. Dr. Lopez has won numerous awards for his work in both space physics and science education, including the 2002 APS Nicholson Medal, the 2010 SACNAS Distinguished Scientist Award, the 2012 APS Edward A. Bouchet Award, and two NASA Group Achievements Awards. Dr. Lopez is a Fellow of the APS, the AAAS, and the AAPT.