Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES)

About ACES

The Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES) symposium is a university-wide, daylong event that occurs in late March. ACES showcases the best of our students' research and creativity. Undergraduate and graduate students work with faculty mentors in their disciplines to write and submit abstracts for the competition. The approved abstracts are then turned into oral presentations or posters to be presented at the symposium.

Past winners have presented research on gene therapy, business relations, army recruiting, pain control, better tools for builders, history, philosophy, biochemistry, engineering and countless other topics. They have presented works of art, literature, music, and stage performances. ACES is truly an interdisciplinary event in which any student from any program can participate.

ACES attracts an audience from a range of academic fields. Students and judges come from all disciplines, educational levels, and backgrounds. Value is placed on abstracts and presentations grounded in strong research that effectively communicate to a general but well-educated audience.

ACES is sponsored by the Graduate Studies Office at UT Arlington. Additional financial support is provided by the Office of the Provost, Office of Development, and the Colleges of Business, Engineering, Liberal Arts, Science, Nursing, Education and Health Professions and the School of Architecture and the School of Urban and Public Affairs.

ACES is coordinated by a volunteer committee of faculty and staff at UT Arlington.

The 2014 ACES Steering Committee

Lisa Berry, Graduate Studies Office
Dana Dunn, Department of Sociology
Ashley Horn, Graduate Studies Office
Raymond L. Jackson, Graduate Studies Office
Jennifer Knight, Graduate Studies Office
Mike Knox, Division of Student Affairs
Joslyn Krismer, Division of Academic Analytics and Operations
Mark LaVelle, Office of Development
Daniel Levine, Department of Psychology
Maria Martinez-Cosio, Division of Faculty Affairs
Laura Mydlarz, Department of Biology
James Perry, Honors College
Mimi Philobos, Office of the Provost
Ashley Purgason, College of Science
Christopher Ray, Department of Kinesiology
Les Riding-In, College of Liberal Arts

© 2019 Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES)
348 Davis Hall  •  Box 19185  •  Arlington, TX 76019
e:  •  p: 817.272.5164