Student Groups

Get Involved at UTA

There are many ways in which students can get involved in Studio, Media Arts, and Art History at UTA. For questions please contact the group directly, or the Art Office at 817.272.2891 / art-arthistory@uta.edu

Group Name Area

AIGA UTA Student Group

Visual Communication

AIGA UTA Student Group

AIGA UTA Student Group is a student run affiliate of the national American Institute of Graphic Art. Our goal is to enhance the education of UTA design students by providing events, workshops, resources, critiques, and community, while also helping them build leadership skills that will be valuable as they move into the professional world.

AIGA, the professional association for design, believes designers serve a critical role as communicators, educators and innovators. AIGA sets the national agenda for the role of design in economic, social, political, cultural and creative contexts.

Members
Co-President Kenny Cao kcao@uta.edu
Co-President Carly Stephens carly.stephens@mavs.uta.edu
Event Coordinator Susan Nguyen susanhnguyen@mavs.uta.edu
EVent Coordinator Sharon Tran sharon.tran@mavs.uta.edu
Marketing Coordinator Elena Chudoba elena.chudoba@mavs.uta.edu
Membership Director Austin Ryan austin.ryan@mavs.uta.edu
Social Media Coordinator Kimi Nguyen courtneyknguyen@mavs.uta.edu
Secretary Alicia Pak alicia.pak@mavs.uta.edu
Historian Kim Inthirath kimberlin.inthirath@mavs.uta.edu
Junior Officier Jonathan Silverburg jonathan.silverburg@mavs.uta.edu
Faculty Advisor MiHyun Kim mihyun@uta.edu
Schedule of Events
Introductory Meeting 9-4-14 5:00pm – 6:00pm FAB 357
Head Start Workshop 2.0 9-23-14 8:00am - 2:00pm FAB 358
Design Night 10-25-14 8:00pm - 12:00am FAB 358
designEXPO 11-7-14 9:00am - 9:00pm TBA
Resources
AIGA UTA Facebook Page

AIGA UTA Facebook Page

AIGA UTA Twitter Page

AIGA UTA Twitter Page

AIGA DFW

AIGA DFW

AIGA

AIGA, the professional association for design, is committed to advancing design as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force.

Standard Form of Agreement

This agreement allows you to create customized terms and conditions for different types of design engagements.

Clampitt Paper

DFW's local paper company.

Head Start Workshop 2.0

Head Start Workshop presentation for incoming Visual Communication students. Learn tips from the seniors and get a head start on in your career.

Art Educators’ Association (AEA)

All

Art Educators’ Association

The Art Educators' Association is an organization on the UTA campus that provides resources, resume builders, events, and good times for all of the art educators and the like!

Members
General Inquiry Email arteducatorsassociation@hotmail.com
Resources
Pinterest
Wordpress
Facebook

Art History Student Union

Art History

Art History Student Union

The Art History Student Union is a group of students that share a common interest in art history. During our weekly meetings we watch films and have discussions regarding related topics in art history. Our main yearly event is the Art History Symposium that is held every Spring semster. To find out more about the Art History Student Union, please visit https://mavorgs.collegiatelink.net/organization/arthistorystudentunion

Meetings
  • Day: Monday
  • Time: 2PM / 3 PM
  • Place: Room 2102, 2nd Floor, Fine Arts Building, University of Texas at Arlington
Members
General Inquiry AHSU@mavs.uta.edu
Department Advisor Dr. Mary Vaccaro vaccaro@uta.edu
Resources
Facebook

Focus

Photography

Focus

FOCUS is a student photographers organization at the University of Texas at Arlington. The purpose of this group is to offer a sense of community for students with an interest in the photographic arts, and expand their knowledge and appreciation of the field. To reach out to the community by exhibition, educational programs, and artist lectures about the photographic arts. To aid students in preparing for graduate studies, and professional careers in the photographic arts. So in short, Focus provides the environment for students and member to practice their skill set.

Members
Faculty Advisor Scott Hilton shilton@uta.edu

Student Art Association (SAA)

All

Student Art Association (SAA)

SAA (Student Art Association) manages Gallery West operations, which include exhibition curating and scheduling and the maintenance of the gallery’s facilities. All exhibitions and usage of the gallery are designated for undergraduate and Graduate Art students. Exhibitions are usually for one week to increase the availability of the gallery for a more diverse educational experience for students.

Meetings
  • Place: Gallery West
Members
Faculty Advisor Nicholas Wood nwood@uta.edu