College of Business Hosts the 7th Annual SHRM Texas HR Games

  What: The 7th Annual Texas HR Games competition
  When: Saturday, Feb. 20. Games start at 9:30 am. Finals start at 2:00 pm and
awards ceremony at 3:00 pm. See full schedule below.
  Where: The UT Arlington main campus in the Business Building (registration
located in the first floor South Lobby).

The Society for Human Resource Management's 7th annual Texs State Council HR Games competition will be held Saturday, February 20, at The University of Texas at Arlington's College of Business. More than 150 students and volunteers are expected to participate. HR Games winners will qualify to compete in the national HR Games finals in Washington, D.C.

The HR Games are a fun way to motivate and prepare students for human resource professional certification. The event consists of a series of game show style matches between teams of up to three undergraduate students from various colleges and universities. The UT Arlington team consists of Christian Ohonba, Sarah Davoody, and Sadia Piprawala.

The questions for the matches are divided into categories similar to those used in the certification exam: management practices; selection and recruitment; training and development; compensation and benefits; employee/labor relations; and health, safety and security. In each round, students select points and a category of questions. The question is read twice and the teams have 15 seconds to supply the correct answer. After a series of initial matches, teams with the best records participate in the championship rounds for first and second place.

Contact Dennis Veit, SHRM Texas College Relations Director and Advisor for UT Arlington's Master of Science in Human Resource Management program, at 817-272-3865 or


Full Event schedule:

 8:00   -  8:30     Registration
 8:30  -  9:15     Orientation (Student & Volunteer)
 9:30  -  9:50     Round 1
 9:50  -  10:10     Round 2
 10:00  -  10:45     Orientation (Mid-Afternoon Volunteer Only)
 10:10  -  10:30     Round 3
 10:30  -  10:50     Round 4
 10:50  -  11:10     Round 5
 11:10  -  11:30     Round 6
 11:30  -  11:50     Round 7
 11:50  -  12:10     Round 8
 12:15  -  1:00     Lunch
 1:00  -  1:45     Semi
 2:00  -  2:45     Finals
 3:00  -  3:45     Awards