UTA Business Now

Honors, Awards, Promotions

  • Congratulations to Myrtle P. Bell, Ph.D., and Marcus Butts, Ph.D., who have both been awarded Faculty Development Leaves for the upcoming academic year. These leaves are difficult to get and extremely competitive. Development of our faculty is part of our UTA DNA!
  • Susanna Khavul, associate professor of management in the College of Business, has been selected for the UT Arlington Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Professor Khavul has previously won the UT System Regent’s Teaching Award (2013), the UT Arlington President’s Excellence in Teaching Award and the College of Business Outstanding Teaching Award-Graduate. Professor Khavul has also received the Academy of Management’s IDEA Thought Leadership Award for her research on entrepreneurial finance. Professor Khavul joins Professors Sanjiv Sabherwal, Jim Quick, Don McConnell, Abdul Rasheed, Mark Eakin, and David Diltz in this prestigious society. This is a part of our UTA DNA!
  • The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) has just released the 2013 CPA pass rate performance for all candidates. For first-time students with an advanced degree (MS, MST or MPA), UTA Accounting students were ranked fourth in the state with a pass rate of 71.5%. This pass rate is much higher than the state average of 60.9% or national average of 54.6%. Click to view an analysis of UTA student performance. The UTA Accounting program continues its stellar performance in preparing students for the CPA exam and the job market. This is a part of our UTA DNA!
  • The Master of Science in Taxation program in the Department of Accounting of the College of Business at UT Arlington has been ranked No. 8 in the nation for the Top MS Taxation programs by TaxTalent for 2014. This is the third year in a row that the UTA MS Taxation program has been ranked in the Top 10.
    For the 2014 Educational Survey results, TaxTalent contacted 143 employed heads of corporate in-house tax departments and asked them to select up to five schools with MS Tax programs that they hold in the highest regard when hiring candidates.
    The results of the survey will be officially released March 25 on www.taxtalent.com. This is a part of our UTA DNA.
  • C.Y. Choi, Associate Professor of Economics in the College of Business, has been recently appointed by the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas as a research associate in its Globalization Institute. The appointment offers many chances to attend the Federal Reserve's seminars and conferences, and to develop research agenda on monetary economics and policy together with the Federal Reserve's economists. Professor Choi will by provided with workspace and equipment for research on a regular basis at the Federal Reserve Bank. Additionally, his research work that deals with the implications of globalization for monetary policy can be circulated through the Federal Reserve's Institute working paper series. This is a part of our UTA DNA.
  • Robert Earley, Nick Barber, and The G.L. Barron Company were announced as honorees of the College of Business 2014 Alumni and Service Awards at a ceremony on Thursday, February 27, 2014. The College of Business Annual Alumni and Service Awards are a means to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of alumni and to acknowledge extraordinary service in support of the college and its mission. Any UT Arlington College of Business graduate or former student is eligible to receive an alumni award. Previous winners are not eligible to receive the same award.
    Learn more, watch the video, and view photos from the event... This event is a part of our UTA DNA.
  • Dr. Chandra Subramanium, Michael Clock, and Dean Rachel Croson College of Business alumnus Michael Clock (B.B.A. '92), CFO of Le Duff America, was awarded CFO of the Year, Restaurant category, by the Dallas Business Journal during an awards presentation October 24. Alumna Joan Cox (B.A. '80), CFO of Head Start of Greater Dallas, was a finalist for the Nonprofit category. The UTA College of Business was a presenting sponsor of the event. Read more...
    (Pictured at right, Dr. Chandra Subramanium, chair of the accounting department in the College of Business, Michael Clock, CFO of Le Duff America, and Dr. Rachel Croson, dean of the College of Business.)
  • Dr. Rachel Croson, dean of the UTA College of Business, and alumna Jeanne Smith (B.B.A. '92) were recognized as Great Women of Texas by the Fort Worth Business Press October 23, during a dinner and awards ceremony. Read more...
  • The University and the UT Arlington Alumni Association honored Herb Beckwith (M.S. '94), CFO and senior vice president of international operations for Justin Brands, with a Distinguished Alumni Award at the annual Gala October 19. Read more...
  • New UT Arlington professors emeriti were honored at the Fall Meeting of the Faculty and Associates on October 7. Kenneth Wheeler, associate professor of management and human resources in the College of Business, was among the six faculty honorees.
  • On October 16, UT Arlington President Vistasp Karbhari and Provost Ronald Elsenbaumer recognized faculty promotions and tenure. Six College of Business faculty were recognized. Promoted from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure were: Marcus Butts, department of management; Traci Freling and Zhiyong Yang, department of marketing; Jingguo Wang and Jie (Jennifer) Zhang, department of information systems and operations management. Promoted from associate professor to full professor: Radha Mahapatra, department of information systems and operations management.
  • In 1974, Mary Earle Aucutt (B.B.A. '75) established an endowment at the College of Business in memory of her parents, one of the first endowment gifts made to the college. Upon her passing in 1985, she left her estate and her parents’ estate to the college to award scholarships for students. Since its establishment, the endowment has awarded 574 scholarships to students. The expected distributions for 2013-14 total nearly $32,000. On October 11, the College of Business hosted a lunch with the Earle family to thank them for their generous gift and enable them to meet some of the students who benefit from the scholarships. Kathryn Bartelski, Abenezer Kassa, Zinna Butcher, Marjorie and John Earle, Alan C. Earle, Dean Rachel Croson, and Dr. David Gray; The Earle family was presented with a two-inch-thick collection of thank-you letters received from student scholarship recipients over the years.
    (Pictured at right, College of Business students and scholarship recipients Kathryn Bartelski, Abenezer Kassa and Zinna Butcher; Marjorie and John Earle (surviving brother of Mary Earle Aucutt); their son, Alan C. Earle; College of Business Dean Rachel Croson and Dr. David Gray, Associate Dean for the College of Business.)