Skip to main content
Campus Operations Banner

About Us and Our Function

The Police Department's function is to impartially enforce local, state and federal laws, and to protect the campus from crime and disorder as efficiently and effectively as possible by professionally utilizing human and fiscal resources in order to provide outstanding service to the University.

The Police Department operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The Police Department operates with an authorized personnel total of 118: 38 sworn police officers, 56 public safety officers (PSO), 9 communications officers, 5 parking office personnel, 5 administrative personnel, 2 emergency management personnel, 1 transportation supervisor, and 5 key control personnel.

Police officers at UT Arlington have completed The University of Texas System Police Academy (or equivalent academy) and been licensed by the Texas Commission on Licensing and Officer Standards in Education (TCLEOSE). In addition to the academy, officers receive 15 weeks of field training and a minimum of 40 hours of in-service training every two years, as required by law. PSOs complete a 5 week field training program.  Communications officers also complete a 40-hour state certified telecommunications training program and a 15 week field training program.

The department's police officers are commissioned by The University of Texas System Board of Regents per Article 51.203 of the Texas Education Code. These officers are defined as peace officers under Article 2.12 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure and are fully empowered by the State. As peace officers, the Department's police officers have the same authority to detain and arrest as municipal police officers.

An amendment by the legislature in 1987 to Section 51.203 of the Texas Education Code extends the jurisdiction of the University police officers to include all counties in which property is owned, leased, or otherwise under the control of the institution. A policy issued by The University of Texas Board of Regents in 1987 defines the primary jurisdiction of the UT Arlington Police Department as the area within the geographical boundaries of property owned, leased, or otherwise under the control of The University of Texas System or UT Arlington.

The UT Arlington Police Department maintains a solid working relationship with the City of Arlington Police Department, as well as all local, county, state, and federal law enforcement agencies.


The UT Arlington Police Department was awarded a full 2nd Re-Accreditation by The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA ®) on March 23, 2013, in conjunction with CALEA's Spring Conference in Charleston, SC. In addition, the department is accredited through the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (IACLEA).  Through this process the UT Arlington Police Department has successfully exhibited compliance with all applicable CALEA and IACLEA standards for Law Enforcement Agencies. Areas addressed include: 
  • Law Enforcement Role and Authority
  • Agency Jurisdiction and Mutual Aid
  • Organization and Administration
  • Direction
  • Crime Analysis
  • Allocation and Distribution of Personnel
  • Fiscal Management
  • Classification and Delineation of Duties and Responsibilities
  • Compensation, Benefits, and Conditions of Work
  • Grievance Procedures
  • Disciplinary Procedures
  • Recruitment
  • Selection
  • Training and Career Development
  • Promotion
  • Performance Evaluation
  • Patrol
  • Criminal Investigation
  • Vice, Drugs and Organized Crime
  • Juvenile Operations
  • Crime Prevention and Community Involvement
  • Unusual Occurrences and Special Operations
  • Criminal Intelligence
  • Internal Affairs
  • Inspectional Services
  • Public Information
  • Victim / Witness ssistance
  • Traffic
  • Prisoner Transportation
  • Legal Process
  • Communications
  • Records
  • Collection and Preservation of Evidence
  • Property and Evidence Control

Related Resources