Skip to content

The following scholarships are available to University of Texas at Arlington School of Architecture students for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Please carefully read through all the criteria to ensure that you meet the requirements for the scholarship(s) for which you are applying. You may only apply for two scholarships on the application; a primary and secondary. Do not list more than two.

Who can apply?

The scholarships all have different criteria, some based on the region of Texas where you attended high school, some based on your interests, and some are open to all students. Read the descriptions carefully and decide which ones for which you are eligible. Please DO NOT apply for scholarships for which you do not meet the criteria.

The TAF scholarships fall into two categories: Designated and Competitive

Designated Scholarships for UT Arlington students:

Designated: These scholarships will be awarded to an architecture student from UT Arlington School of Architecture.

AIA Fort Worth Charles R. Adams Memorial Scholarship     $5,000

Association Administrators & Consultants Architecture Scholarship   $1,000                         

Mattia J. Flabiano Jr. Southwest Terrazzo Association         $1,000     

Wichita Falls Chapter AIA Scholarship                                $1,000

Competitive Scholarships – These scholarships are selected from candidates from the eight schools of architecture in Texas.

Many the scholarships are given by regional AIA chapters, and the criteria states that the student’s permanent address must be within the counties served by that local chapter. Consult the TAF criteria indicating AIA chapter jurisdiction to determine eligibility for a specific regional scholarship.

Edwin W. and Alyce Carroll Scholarship



Ruth Kaigler Goode and D. Rex Goode Scholarship


George Harrell II Memorial Scholarship


San Antonio Conservation Society Foundation Scholarship

$2,500 each

(two available)

For the following scholarships: Applicant must have attended highschool in counties served by this AIA Chapter as listed in the criteria document.


Abilene Chapter Scholarship



AIA Amarillo Chapter Scholarship



AIA Corpus Christi Chapter Scholarship



El Paso Chapter AIA Scholarship

$2,000 each

 Two Available

AIA San Antonio Daryl Engel Memorial Scholarship



AIA Southeast TExas Douglas E. Steinman Scholarship



AIA Waco Chapter Memorial Scholarship



AIA West Texas Chapter



How do I apply?

The deadline for applications is Monday, March 19, 2018.  You will submit your application to the School of Architecture Scholarship Committee, not to TAF.  Here are the steps to follow:

  1. Review (scholarship criteria) to determine eligibility for the various scholarships. Pay special attention to residency requirements.
  2. Download and fill out the 2018-2019 TAF scholarship application form.
  3. Fully complete the scholarship application. Texas Architecture Foundation stresses that student answers on the application are very important, as they are presenting themselves to practicing architects. Thoughtful answers, correct spelling and grammar may be the deciding factors when making the final choice.

  4. Create a digital portfolio in pdf format.
  5. Name application and portfolio files with your last name (for example: ralphsullivan-application.pdf and ralphsullivan-portfolio.pdf) and submit both files on thumb drive to CAPPA office 203, along with a hard copy of the completed and signed application form. 
  6. Due Date: Monday, March 19, 2018. Submissions may be turned in to Chang Huynh, the receptionist in the CAPPA administrative office, Rm 203, no later than 5pm on March 19, 2018. Only thumb drives will be accepted.

Then what happens?

The Scholarship Committee will review the applications and decide on nominations for the various awards. We will inform students whether or not their applications were nominated and sent to TAF for consideration of final award.

For students who are awarded scholarships by TAF, please note that the funds will be disbursed to the School in July, to be distributed to the student upon confirmation of enrollment for the 2018-2019 academic year.