Department of Communication Faculty honored

Posted 5-3-2013 by Barrie Hill

The UTA Department of Communication is proud of the accomplishments of its faculty and staff and prides itself on the engaged, passionate personalities that make up the department. Several faculty members are the recent recipients of university and college teaching awards this year.

Mindia Whittier, Public Relations senior instructor, is recipient of the University’s 2013 William S. Ward Endowment Award honoring a non-tenure track faculty member for excellence in teaching.


Established to honor the life and contributions of UT Arlington faculty member Bill Ward, this prize recognizes a non-tenure track faculty member “with an exemplary work ethic, who loves working with students, and who makes a significant impact on enhancing the goals of the University.” Whittier received the award April 22 at the Faculty Awards event.


Dr. Andrew Clark is this year’s recipient of the College of Liberal Art’s (COLA) Gertrude Golladay Award. The award is voted on by students to honor a top instructor.


Radio broadcast instructor Lance Liguez received the COLA Dean’s Accolade Award for the 2012-13 academic year. The award is presented to educators who inspire students to create work of exceptional merit.


Journalism instructor Geoff Campbell was awarded this year’s COLA Outstanding Adjunct Instructor honor.


Congratulations to our faculty members for these well-deserved honors!