A-Z Index 
Find People
COS Home 

College of Science honors faculty and staff for excellence
The College of Science dean’s office hosted its annual Spring Faculty and Staff Meeting on May 3 in the E.H. Hereford University Center, presenting awards and recognizing outstanding achievements by faculty and staff members in all departments.

Dean Morteza Khaledi reviewed some of the highlights of the 2015-16 academic year, in which the College of Science celebrated its 50th anniversary. He also detailed some of the College’s plans and goals for the coming years, which include hiring new faculty and establishing a comprehensive plan for the College of Science which will complement the University’s Strategic Plan 2020: Bold Solutions | Global Impact.

He also gave an update on building construction and renovation, noting that the UT System Board of Regents has approved the design for the new Science and Engineering Innovation and Research building, a $125 million, 220,000-square-foot facility to be built just south of the Life Sciences Building, with construction expected to begin this summer. He also noted that the Life Sciences Building will be undergoing a series of renovations and updates in the coming months to modernize the facility, which opened in 1970.

Receiving certificates of appreciation for their contributions to the College of Science’s Freshman Interest Group (FIG) program were Kayunta Johnson-Winters, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Madeline Rex-Lear, lecturer in psychology; Walter Schargel, lecturer in biology; Corey Roelke, lecturer in biology; Tim Henry, lecturer in biology and assistant dean of the Honors College; and Lori Norris, COS special events coordinator.

The dean’s office presented annual College of Science awards to:

2016 College of Science Award for Excellence in Research - Yue Deng, associate professor of physics

2016 College of Science Award for Excellence in Teaching - (tenure track) Dimitar Grantcharov, associate professor of mathematics; and (non-tenure track) Cornelia Winguth, lecturer in earth and environmental sciences

Faculty members receiving recognition from UTA and the UT System for 2015-16 include:

Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity - Christopher Kribs, professor of mathematics

Academy of Distinguished Teachers - Theresa Jorgensen, associate professor of mathematics

President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching - Laura Mydlarz, associate professor of biology

William S. Ward Endowment Award (for non-tenure track faculty) - Seiichero Tanizaki, assistant professor in practice in chemistry and biochemistry

UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers - Kevin Schug, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; and Barbara Shipman, associate professor of mathematics

Outstanding Academic Advisor, Honorable Mention - Megan Juel, professional advisor in the Department of Psychology; and Anastasia Whitaker, professional advisor in the Department of Biology

Faculty Mentoring Program - James Grover, professor of biology; Carl Lovely, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Robin Macaluso, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry

McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentors - Benito Chen-Charpentier, professor of mathematics; Jared Kenworthy, associate professor of psychology; Qing Lin, associate professor of psychology; Nicolette Hass, professor in practice of psychology; Samarendra Mohanty, assistant professor of physics

Faculty Development Leaves for 2016-17 - Amir Farbin, associate professor of physics; Chaoqun Liu, professor of mathematics; Ramon Lopez, professor of physics

Strategic Research Appointment for 2016-17 - Woo-Suk Chang, associate professor of biology, “Global Environment Impact: Impact of Elevated Atmospheric CO2 and Role of Biological N Fixation on Global Climate Change”

Research Enhancement Grants for 2016-17 - Alejandro Bugarin, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, “Elimination of Trace Metallic Impurities in Drug Syntheses”; Shawn Christensen,
Dimitar Grantcharov (tenure track) and Cornelia Winguth (non-tenure track) received the 2016 COS Award for Excellence in Teaching.
Yue Deng, left, pictured with physics chair Alex Weiss, received the 2016 COS Award for Excellence in Research.
Dean Morteza Khaledi cut a cake marking the conclusion of the College’s year-long celebration of its 50th anniversary.
associate professor of biology, “Structure and Function of a Genomic Parasite Probing the Globular Domain Structure of the R2 Integration Complex”; Craig Negoshi, associate professor of psychology, “Re-conceptualizing Citizenship Engagement”; Linda Perrotti, associate professor of psychology, “Sex Differences and Brain Circuitry Underlying the Antidepressant Effects of Ketamine in Females”

Outstanding Maverick Award - Amy Barraclough, Planetarium at UTA program coordinator

University Service Awards - (40 years) Robert Gatchel, professor of psychology; (35 years) Thomas Chrzanowski, professor of biology; Irinel Dragan, professor emeritus of mathematics; William Ickes, professor of psychology; (25 years) Andrew White, professor of physics; (20 years) Beth Ballard, administrative assistant in earth and environmental sciences; Carl Lovely, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Qiming Zhang, professor of physics

Posted May 19, 2016
The University of Texas at Arlington  |  College of Science
Dean’s Office: Room 206, Life Science Building, 501 S. Nedderman Drive
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 19047 Arlington, TX 76019 Phone: 817-272-3491 Fax: 817-272-3511
Questions or comments? Contact COS Web Developer
©2014 The University of Texas at Arlington. All rights reserved.
About UTA Athletics Continuing Education
Admissions Campus Life Libraries
Academics Research Support UT Arlington