The University of Texas at Arlington College of Science Fall 2011  

11th annual Calculus Bowl

Flower Mound wins title for 2nd straight year

Flower Mound team members, from left, Richard Wang, C a m e r o n Blocker, Tyler Fugere, Adeesh Jain and team advisor Mary Walker.
     It appears there's a dynasty-in-the-making at the UT Arlington Calculus Bowl. Flower Mound High School dominated the final round on its way to winning the 11th annual event on March 4 in Pickard Hall.
     It was Flower Mound's second straight win and third overall, tying the Oakridge School of Arlington for most wins.
     The Flower Mound team, comprised of Cameron Blocker, Tyler Fugere, Adeesh Jain and Ziqi Li, easily outpaced runner- up Paschal High School of Fort Worth, outscoring them 37-18 in the final round.
     Paschal's team members included Alex Hulen, Tim Kuhnen, Daniel Sherman, Max Wade and Dominic Yurk, with teacher Dan Powderly serving as team advisor.
     This year's event drew 23 teams of high school students from across the Metroplex. The event had to be rescheduled after snow and ice postponed it Feb. 4. Hristo Kojouharov, associate professor of mathematics and the creator and coordinator of the Calculus Bowl, said the postponement didn't create too many headaches for event preparations.
     "It wasn't that big of an issue, other than the fact that we were set to have 28 teams here competing, which would have been a record," Kojouharov said. "With the new date, some of the schools had scheduling conflicts and couldn't make it, including several that have never been before. So that was the main thing, that some schools didn't get a chance to participate."
     The Calculus Bowl is a fast-paced competition in which teams race to solve a series of pre-calculus and calculus problems. Ten teams advanced from the preliminaries to the finals. Other teams making the finals included North Hills Preparatory, Hirschi High School, Coppell High School, Haltom High School, Argyle High School, the Oakridge School, Birdville High School and Hebron High School.