The University of Texas at Arlington College of Science 2012-13  
Faculty, staff honored for excellence, service
College of Science research and teaching honorees with Dean Pamela Jansma are, from left, Fred MacDonnell, Dean Jansma, Jaehoon Yu, Carl Lovely and Angela Liegey-Dougall. Below, Mary Jane Goad, right, presents Linda Taylor with the first Mary Jane Goad Staff Excellence Award.
The College of Science presented its annual research and faculty awards and recognized faculty who received various honors in the past academic year during an end-of-year ceremony on May 4.
The Outstanding Research Award was given to Jaehoon Yu, professor of physics, and Carl Lovely, professor of chemistry and biochemistry.
Yu has an outstanding record of accomplishment, with over 200 publications in prestigious journals and continuous funding to support his experimental work in particle physics, Jansma said. Yu came to UT Arlington in 2001 from the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Illinois.
Lovely's record of accomplishment is also outstanding, Jansma said, with over 65 publications, a strong record of research funding and 13 doctoral degrees completed under his direction. Lovely came to UT Arlington in 1996 from The Ohio State University, where he was working as a postdoctoral fellow.
The Outstanding Teaching Award was given to Angela Liegey-Dougall, assistant professor of psychology, and Fred MacDonnell, professor of chemistry and biochemistry.
Liegey-Dougall, who came to UT Arlington in 2006 from the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, has consistently had some of the top course evaluations for her upper-level undergraduate course in Health Psychology, Jansma said, and she also integrated an extra credit Service Learning Project, which is done in conjunction with UT Arlington Health Services, that allows students to actively practice many of the concepts and interventions they discuss in class.
MacDonnell, who came to UT Arlington in 1995, teaches large freshmen chemistry courses and graduate level inorganic chemistry. These are some of the most challenging courses to teach in the department, Jansma said, but he teaches them with dedication and his evaluations by students are consistently excellent.
The Dean's office also created a new award to recognize staff members for their service, commitment and dedication to the College of Science. The award is named for Mary Jane Goad, who worked in the Dean's office for decades, serving each of the college's eight deans and acting deans since the late 1960s.
The inaugural Mary Jane Goad Staff Excellence Award was presented to Linda Taylor, administrative services officer II in the Department of Biology. Taylor has been at UT Arlington for 25 years, and her dependability and knowledge about the department are invaluable, Jansma said.