The University of Texas at Arlington College of Science 2012-13  

Flower Mound again rules UTA Calculus Bowl

Flower Mound team members included, from left, Sarah Song, coach Russell Yeatts, Sabrina Thompson, Adeesh Jain, Ameya Bhat and coach Mary Walker.
Flower Mound High School is making a habit of winning the UT Arlington Calculus Bowl – the school claimed its third straight title and fourth in five years at the 12th annual fast-paced advanced math competition, held March 2, 2012 in Pickard Hall.
Teams from 22 area high schools matched wits to answer a series of challenging calculus problems. Points were awarded for fastest correct response, and the top eight teams advanced to the final round, where Flower Mound edged runner-up Highland Park by a single point to retain the title.
"It was an exciting competition with lots of very bright students," said Calculus Bowl founder and coordinator Hristo Kojouharov, associate professor of mathematics. "It's good to see students get so excited about math and this is exactly what the event is about."
Flower Mound team members included Ameya Bhat, Adeesh Jain, Sarah Song and Sabrina Thompson, with Flower Mound math teachers Mary Walker and Russell Yeatts serving as team coaches.
"We were very excited to win it for the third time in a row, especially with such tough competition," Walker said.
The event is one of many outreach programs conducted by the College of Science aimed at inspiring enthusiasm in math and science among area school-age students.