COS Home

A-Z Index
Find People
COS Home

College of Science Scholarships

Stay connected online

Dennis S. Marynick Scholarship Fund
Department: Chemistry and Biochemistry
Class Level: Undergraduate
Deadline: 03/18/2015
Contact: Dr. Jimmy Rogers
Associate Professor of Practice
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Amount Variable
Eligibility Must be an undergraduate majoring in Chemistry or Biochemistry
Must be in good academic standing with the College of Science
  Must be currently enrolled in or have completed CHEM 3322, Physical Chemistry II
Application Procedure Open the electronic application form below. Submit the application form electronically by clicking "submit" at the end of the form. You may apply for more than one scholarship by using the form below. Select each scholarship for which you meet the requirements and submit one form. If you need further information about requirements of each scholarship, return to the previous page and research each scholarship listed.
Link to Application Form

Donor Profile DENNIS MARYNICK was a long-time professor in UT Arlington’s Chemistry and Biochemistry Department. He earned his BS in Chemistry with Honors from California State University in 1969. He received a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship and attended graduate school at Harvard. After receiving his Ph.D. in 1973, he was awarded a Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science Postdoctoral Fellowship at UC – Berkeley, where he spent two years in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He then returned to Harvard for three years as a Lecturer of Chemistry and postdoctoral fellow. He became Assistant Professor of Chemistry at UT Arlington in 1978 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1982 and Professor in 1986. In 1996, he became the Jenkins Garrett Professor of Chemistry. He has also received the award for College of Science Teacher of the Year and the Award for Distinguished Research at UT Arlington. Additionally, he received the Wilfred T. Doherty Award from the DFW Section of the American Chemical Society. He has approximately 170 publications in peer-reviewed journals.
The University of Texas at Arlington  |  College of Science
Dean’s Office: Room 206, Life Science Building, 501 S. Nedderman Drive
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 19047 Arlington, TX 76019 Phone: 817-272-3491 Fax: 817-272-3511
Questions or comments? Contact COS Web Developer
©2012 The University of Texas at Arlington. All rights reserved.
About UTA Athletics Continuing Education
Admissions Campus Life Libraries
Academics Research Support UT Arlington