SW-4-2-5: NanoManufacturing inside Transmission Electron Microscopes Using Nanorobotic Manipulation

Prof. Lixin Dong, Michigan State University, USA


Nanorobotic manipulation is characterized by multiple degrees of freedom with both position and orientation controls, independently actuated multi-probes, and a real-time observation system. Nanorobotic manipulation has proven effective for structuring and characterization nano building blocks and is promising for assembling nanodevices in 3-D space. With a transmission electron microscope (TEM), a high resolution (sub-nanometer to atomic level) and a variety of analytical tools facilitate the processes and enable in situ instrumentation and manufacturing of nanostructures and systems. A brief survey on TEM-based nanorobotic manipulation will be given in this presentation focusing on the progress, challenges, and future directions.

Speaker Biography

Lixin Dong is currently an Assistant Professor at Michigan State University. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Xi’an University of Technology (XUT) in 1989 and 1992, respectively, and his Ph.D. degree in Micro Systems Engineering from Nagoya University in 2003. He became a Research Associate, a Lecturer, and an Associate Professor of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering in 1992, 1995, and 1998 at XUT, Assistant Professor of Micro/Nano Systems and MechanoInformation Engineering in 2003 at Nagoya University, and Research Scientist in 2004 and Senior Research Scientist in 2005 at ETH Zurich, where he led the NanoRobotics Group in IRIS. He is a senior member of IEEE and serves as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Trans. on Nanotechnology and the IEEE Trans. on Automation Science and Engineering. He serves as a Chair of Technical Committee of Nano Energy, Environment, and Safety (NEES) of IEEE NTC and has chaired or co-chaired several international conferences and workshops. He received the NSF CAREER Award in 2011, the 2008 PROSE Awards in 2009, the IEEE T-ASE Googol Best New Application Paper Award in 2007, and some 30 other awards.