Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Dean Khosrow Behbehani, Ph.D., P.E.

Dr. Khosrow BehbehaniDr. Khosrow Behbehani, former Chair of the Bioengineering Department at The University of Texas at Arlington, was named dean of the University's College of Engineering on May 15, 2013, replacing Jean-Pierre Bardet, who resigned to return to the Civil Engineering faculty.

Behbehani served as Chair of the Bioengineering Department at UT Arlington from 2002 until his present appointment. At that time, Biomedical Engineering was structured as a graduate program. In 2005, Dr. Behbehani successfully led an effort to elevate the status of the program to the department level, now called the Bioengineering Department. In his tenure, research funding for the department has increased by 12 times and the number of tenured and tenure-track faculty has more than doubled. Student enrollment has grown by more than five times. Most recently, Behbehani successfully led an effort to establish a new Bachelor of Science degree in Biomedical Engineering, which began offering classes in fall 2012.

Behbehani's research has focused on the development of medical devices and processes for pulmonary health care. He is an inventor on nine U.S. patents. Licensing of some of these patents for commercialization and his other engineering innovations have helped the treatment of an estimated one million respiratory patients. Behbehani has written more than 118 scientific articles, including a chapter on medical respirators in the field standard Biomedical Engineering Handbook, which soon will have its 4th edition published. He has recently concluded serving as the Associate Editor of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, a premier scientific journal in the field of bioengineering.

In 2013, Dr. Behbehani was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors as Charter Fellow. He is also a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He is a registered Professional Engineer in Texas and a member of Tau Beta Pi (The Engineering Honor Society), Sigma Xi (The Scientific Research Society), ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education), BMES (The Biomedical Engineering Society), Phi Kappa Phi (the collegiate honor society), and ASME (The American Society of Mechanical Engineers).