Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Program Descriptions

Program Descriptions

Engineering Online students can work toward Master's degrees in one of the six academic departments below:

Aerospace Engineering

The overall objective of the graduate program in Aerospace Engineering is to develop in a student the ability to define a technical problem, establish an appropriate mathematical or experimental model based on a firm understanding of the physical nature of the problem, analyze the problem by theoretical, numerical, or experimental techniques, and evaluate the results. Although this ability is developed in the context of aerospace problems, it is applicable to the engineering of any physical system.

Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering

Civil Engineering

The objective of the graduate program in civil engineering is to prepare students for continued professional and scholarly development consistent with their technical interests. Students, with the assistance of a faculty advisor in their area of interest, plan their programs of study in one of the technical areas in civil engineering.

Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Computer Science & Engineering

The purpose of the graduate programs in Computer Science and Computer Science and Engineering is to facilitate the student's continued professional and scholarly development. The Master of Science (M.S.) programs are designed to extend the student's knowledge and emphasize a particular area of concentration. The Master of Software Engineering (M.SW.Engr.) program is designed to provide the student with the opportunity for professional development in the software engineering field.

Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Master of Science in Computer Science

Master of Software Engineering

Electrical Engineering

The course offerings provide the student with an opportunity to broaden as well as to intensify his or her knowledge in a number of areas of electrical engineering. The student, with the aid of a faculty adviser, may plan a program in any one of a number of fields of specialization within electrical engineering or from the offerings of related departments in science and engineering.

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering

The graduate program in industrial engineering is designed to provide the student with fundamental knowledge in the various areas of industrial engineering and with the opportunity to emphasize in a particular area. A student pursuing a master's or doctoral degree may specialize in any area of industrial engineering such as General Industrial Engineering, Operations Research and Applied Statistics, Manufacturing Systems, Logistics, Enterprise Systems, Enterprise Management, and Ergonomics.

Master of Science in Industrial Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

The graduate program in mechanical engineering provides opportunities for professional development in such forms as: instructional courses to enhance technical competence in areas of mechanical engineering practice; training through a variety of experiences in design, development, research, experimentation, and/or analysis in joint efforts with faculty and peers; specialized courses of study required for entry into career fields allied to the mechanical engineering discipline; guided individual study under faculty supervision; and supportive coursework for programs leading to careers that require interdisciplinary competence.

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Program Advisors

Department of Civil Engineering

Dr. Melanie L. Sattler, 817-272-5410, msattler@uta.edu

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Dr. Ramez Elmasri, 817-272-2348, elmasri@uta.edu;
Dr. Leonidas Fegaras, 817-272-3629, fegaras@uta.edu;
Dr. Bahram Khalili, 817-272-5407, khalili@uta.edu;
Mr. Mike O'Dell 817-272-3988, odell@uta.edu

Department of Electrical Engineering

Dr. W. Alan Davis, 817-272-3495, adavis@uta.edu;
Dr. William E. Dillon, 817-272-5720, dillon@uta.edu

Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Dr. Sheik Imrhan, 817-272-3167, imrhan@uta.edu
Dr. Donald Liles, 817-272-3160, dliles@uta.edu

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Dr. Seiichi Nomura, 817-272-2012, nomura@uta.edu
Dr. Donald Wilson, 817-272-2072, wilson@uta.edu