Skip to content

Ken Roemer nominated for Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Professor Ken Roemer has been selected as one of the two UTA nominees for the UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Dr. Desiree Henderson Selected UTA Faculty Fellow

Dr. Desiree Henderson has been selected as a 2014-2015 UT Arlington Faculty Fellow.

Registration Open

Graduate and Undergraduate students are now registering for Spring 2014 classes. Undergrduate course descriptions and graduate descriptions are available. Wintermester 2013/14 course descriptions are ready as well.

Dr. Peggy Kulesz Speaks in Focus on Faculty Speaker Series

Dr. Peggy Kulesz spoke on the topic "Not So Distant: Collaboration and Community in Online Education" in the 6th floor parlor of the Central Library. Dr. Kulesz's talk was part of UT Arlington Libraries' Focus on Faculty Speaker Series.

ENGL 6333 Tours Whitehawk

Dr. Kenneth Roemer served as group leader for ENGL 6333 students (and family and friends) for a tour of Whitehawk, the grassroots sustainability intentional community established in the late 1970s outside of Denton, Texas.

Dr. Cedrick May Cited in New York Times

Dr. Cedrick May is cited in a Sept. 27  New York Times article entitled "Technology and the College Generation." Here is an excerpt: "He [Dr. May] soon learned that the students did not know he had changed the reading assignment because they did not check their e-mail regularly, if at all. To the students, e-mail was as antiquated as the spellings 'chuse' and 'musick' in the works by Cotton Mather and Jonathan Edwards that they read on their electronic books. 'Some of them didn’t even seem to know they had a college e-mail account,' Dr. May said. Nor were these wide-eyed freshmen. 'This is considered a junior-level class, so they’d been around,' he said."

Dr. Alaimo Attends a Conference

The International Association of Environmental Philosophers will meet in October in Eugene, Oregon. Part of the conference in Oregon will be a special session devoted to responses to Dr. Stacy Alaimo's book Bodily Natures: Science, Environment, and the Material Self (Indiana UP, 2010). Dr. Alaimo will attend the conference and act as a respondent to the session.

Dr. Desiree Henderson Named Features Editor

Dr. Desiree Henderson has been named features editor of Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers.

Faculty published in Archeopteryx

Dr. Laura Kopchick and Dr. Tim Richardson have work published in the latest issue of Archeopteryx.

Tim Richardson Published

Professor Tim Richardson has published a book entitled Contingency, Immanence, and the Subject of Rhetoric.

Dr. Wendy Faris is a contributor in PMLA

Dr. Wendy Faris is a contributor in the latest issue of PMLA (May 2013). She is among several scholars commenting on the work of Carlos Fuentes.

Dr. Amy Tigner granted tenure

Dr. Amy Tigner has been granted tenure and promotion to Associate Professor.

Jo Ward hired

The department is pleased to announce that Jo Ward has been hired as the new Coordinator of Developmental English.

Early Modern Studies Journal has been redesigned

The Early Modern Studies Journal has been redesigned.

Poem on Slavery discovered

Graduate student Juliet McCown and Dr. Cedric May are interviewed on NPR about thier discovery of poem on slavery, by a slave, in the Yale Univeristy Library. You can look at the original manuscript and read more about the slave Jupiter Hammon at NPR's website.

New Major in English

New Major in English and accompanying Area/Concentration Handout

Dr. Bruce Krajewski new departmental chair

After a national search, Dr. Bruce Krajewski is the new departmental chair. He is the first 12-month chair in the College of Liberal Arts.

Recommended Blog Postings

Dr. Amy Tigner recommends reading blog postings by senior seminar students: Glennda BayronCasey Mitchell, and Sandra Jergensen

New Native American Scholarship Opportunities

New Native American Scholarship Opportunities Announced

Advisor Elise Elliott Awarded

Elise Elliott has been chosen Outstanding Undergraduate Faculty Advisor for this year. This award is based on student nominations, a testament to her ability to help students.

Essay Contest Announced

Duncan Robinson Essay Contest Announced