Skip to content

Quick News

On May 13, UTA awarded degrees to the following English graduate students: Tracey-Lynn Daniels Lerberg (PhD); Jeffrey King (PhD); Robert LaRue (PhD); Julie McCown (PhD); Leslie Cook (MA); Annie Jones Culver (MA); Jordan Ivie (MA); Adam Knorr (MA); Thomas Szymankiewicz (MA); Leslie Wade (MA).

See the list of undergraduates in English who received their BA degrees at the May ceremony.

Richardson Receives Faculty Senate Travel Award

The Faculty Senate Travel Award Committee announced that Dr. Tim Richardson has been awarded a $500 travel grant.

Dallas Observer Leads with Wayne Gay's Review

Dr. Wayne Gay wrote the lead article for the 16 April edition of the Dallas Observer. The piece is a review of Dallas Opera's production of Show Boat.

Student to pursue Masters degree at U of Edinburgh 

Trevor Beers has been accepted into an intensive one-year masters programme in which he will delve into the structure of the English language’s phonology, syntax and semantics, and the language's modern and historical development. This program in the Linguistics department at the University of Edinburgh is ranked third in the world.

Writing Center's new Office Assistant

Kelly Warren has been selected as the full-time Office Assistant for the Writing Center, and she will begin working in the Writing Center on 2 May.

English Department Shines at FacultY Awards Ceremony

On behalf of the everyone at UTA, Dr. Nakia Pope recognized numerous employees of the English Department at the Faculty Awards ceremony in the Rio Grande Ballroom on 28 April: Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching (Kathryn Warren); Doctoral Student Mentoring Award (Stacy Alaimo); Academic Faculty Advising Award (Bethany Shaffer); McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentors (James Warren & Barbara Chiarello); Faculty Development Leave (Penelope Ingram).