The Department’s Hermanns Lecture Series brings nationally and internationally known scholars to campus for a Metroplex audience. The series, initially named the Katherine Anne Porter Memorial Lecture Series, began almost three decades ago. All the lectures are open to the public and aim to acquaint students and Metroplex residents with important issues in our discipline. Since 2003 the Department has offered the following Hermanns programs: “English Studies Today” (2003), Interchanges: An Interdisciplinary Symposium on Literature and Painting in the Americas” (2004), “Telling History: Retrospection in the Making of Medieval and Early Modern Culture” (2005), “The Quiet Power of Horton Foote” (2006), “Psychoanalysis & Religious Conflict” (2007), “Creative Writing in the Academy” (2008), and "Greening English" (2009).


about the hermanns lectures

Rudolph Hermanns, a horticultural salesman, made his living selling plant seeds. Hermanns came to the United States from West Germany with very little money. He amassed a large and valuable estate, containing gold and rare stamps and coins, throughout his life, a fact that few around him were aware. Hermanns lived in a modest apartment close to the UT-Arlington campus for twenty years, watching the college grow and, as a horticulturalist, admiring the landscaping on campus. In spite of his reclusive nature, Hermanns was active in the college community and became close to students, faculty, and staff. Hermanns died in 1985, leaving his estate to UT-Arlington and a University in West Germany (where he earned his degree in horticulture). Hermanns’ love of the campus and relations with the university community are believed to be the major reason why he left his estate to the university. In the spirit of his love of campus and his connection with the students and faculty, the Rudolf Hermanns Endowment for Excellence was founded to enhance academic excellence as well as campus beautification.


“UTA Gets Riches From Recluse’s Estate,” The Dallas Morning News (May 2, 1985)

UT-Arlington records prepared by Jennifer Brigs, College of Liberal Arts

rick bayless
allison carruth
catherine field
darra goldstein
david goldstein
tim morris
josephine caldwell ryan wendy wall

schedule of events

2010 hermanns committee

chair/amy l. tigner
faculty/peggy kulesz, william arcé
library liaison/gretchen trkay
graduate students/tracey clough, april kinkead, justin lerberg, matthew lerberg,
tim martin, and thomas tutt

sponsored by the English Department, the Office of the President, the Central Library, and the Honors College

poster and web design by
davey hubay/d(h)sign


food literature and culture