Tim Morris
Argumentative Writing
Spring 1998 9-9:50 AM MWF 211 Ransom Hall
office hours: MWF 10-11 AM (618 Carlisle)
TTh. 1-2 PM (618 Carlisle)
tmorris@uta.edu
office phone: metro 817-272-2701, or try 817-272-2692
office mailbox 203 Carlisle Hall
mailing address Box 19035, UTA 76019

to the schedule of readings and assignments

course prerequisites: ENGL 1301

Required Textbooks: Nancy V. Wood, Perspectives on Argument (Prentice-Hall) Second Edition, New First Printing

course description: This is a course in argumentative writing, a basic preparation for work in college. All disciplines and majors formulate arguments. In this course you will gain practice in the analysis and composition of arguments.

course objectives: Students who successfully complete this course will be able to identify and discuss some of the most important forms of argument, work up issues for presentation, do some basic library research in support of academic arguments, and use several different argumentative strategies in their writing.

attendance is mandatory; roll will be taken. You may miss three meetings without penalty, further missed classes can lower your grade; see below.

drop policy: drop before final drop date (17 April) guarantees W for the course; drop after that is against university rules. UTA instructors may not drop students for any reason.

assignments: You will write a great deal in this class, and not all of it will be evaluated. The following assignments will be graded. You can accumulate 400 points, distributed as follows:

grading:
Final grades are figured as follows:

In addition, attendance is strongly weighed in determining your final grade. Your first three absences are free; each subsequent absence costs one full letter grade at the end of the semester. Except for religious holidays and absences officially excused by the University, no absence will be excused. If work, illness, or tragedy prevents you from coming to class and contributing, youâve simply had the misfortune to have your semester affected negatively by bad things or personal commitments. The nature of our course means that the course happens not just in the readings and papers but also in active speaking and listening in class, hence these stringent attendance requirements.

academic dishonesty policy: It is the philosophy of The University of Texas at Arlington that academic dishonesty is a completely unacceptable mode of conduct and will not be tolerated in any form. All persons involved in academic dishonesty will be disciplined in accordance with University regulations and procedures. Discipline may include suspension or expulsion from the University. "Scholastic dishonesty includes but is not limited to cheating, plagiarism, collusion, the submission for credit of any work or materials that are attributable in whole or in part to another person, any act designed to give unfair advantage to a student or the attempt to commit such acts." [Regents' Rules and Regulations, Part One, Chapter Vi, Section 3, Subsection 3.2, Subdivision 3.22]

disability policy: The University of Texas at Arlington is on record as being committed to both the spirit and letter of federal equal opportunity legislation; reference Public Law 93112--The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended. With the passage of new federal legislation entitled Americans with Disabilities Act - (ADA), pursuant to section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, there is renewed focus on providing this population with the same opportunities enjoyed by all citizens.

As a faculty member, I am required by law to provide ãreasonable accommodationä to students with disabilities, so as not to discriminate on the basis of that disability. Student responsibility primarily rests with informing faculty at the beginning of the semester and in providing authorized documentation through designated administrative channels.

schedule of assignments and readings

Wed 21 Jan: syllabus, introduction to the course

Fri 23 Jan: Introduction to argument

Mon 26 Jan: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 1

Wed 28 Jan: In-class writing and discussion. Reading: Chapter 2

Fri 30 Jan: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 3

Mon 2 Feb: Discuss textbook.

Wed 4 Feb: Informal presentations (issues)

Fri 6 Feb: Informal presentations (issues). Due: Issue Proposals

Mon 9 Feb: Quiz; informal presentations (issues). Reading: Chapter 4

Wed 11 Feb: Library Tour

Fri 13 Feb: Library Time. No Class Meeting.

Mon 16 Feb: Discussion, informal presentations. Due: First Half of annotated bibliography; summary-response papers.

Wed 18 Feb: Group work in preparation for exploratory papers.

Fri 20 Feb: Peer critique session (first draft). Due: Exploratory papers, first draft.

Mon 23 Feb: Peer critique sessions (second draft). Due: Exploratory papers, second draft.

Wed 25 Feb: Toulmin lecture, discussion. Due: Exploratory papers, final draft.

Fri 27 Feb: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 5.

Mon 2 March: Toulmin presentations. Due: Toulmin oral reports.

Wed 4 March: Toulmin presentations. Due: Toulmin oral reports.

Fri 6 March: no class meeting

Mon 9 March: Quiz, Toulmin presentations. Due: Toulmin oral reports, Toulmin papers. Reading: Chapter 6.

Wed 11 March: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 7.

Fri 13 March: no class meeting

Mon 23 March: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 11.

Wed 25 March: Paper preparation

Fri 27 March: Library time. No class meeting.

Mon 30 March: Paper preparation. Due: Annotated Bibliography.

Wed 1 April: Paper preparation in groups.

Fri 3 April: Paper preparation.

Mon 6 April: Peer critique session. Due: Position paper, first draft.

Wed 8 April: Peer critique session. Due: Position paper, second draft.

Fri 10 April: no class meeting (University Holiday)

Mon 13 April: Position paper presentations.

Wed 15 April: Position paper presentations.

Fri 17 April: Position paper presentations. Due: position paper, final draft

Mon 20 April: Rogerian lecture. Reading: Rogerian argument papers at the end of Chapter 8.

Wed 22 April: Quiz, discussion. Reading: Chapter 8.

Fri 24 April: Peer critique session. Due: Rogerian paper, first draft. See page 256 in Wood.

Mon 27 April: Peer critique session. Due: Rogerian paper, second draft.

Wed 29 April: Informal presentations (Rogerian process) Due: Rogerian paper, final draft.

Fri 1 May: Course evaluations. Last class meeting.