Group Members

Group Leader

Dr. Samar MohantyDr. Samar Mohanty, is working in the Department of Physics since Fall 2009 after finishing Postdoctoral fellowship at Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic. He did his M. Tech. from IIT Delhi in 1998 and worked as a scientist in Centre for Advanced Technology, India. Dr. Mohanty did his Ph.D. in Physics in 2006 from IISc, India. His research interests include Biophysics and Physiological studies at molecular and cellular level to whole organism.

smohanty@uta.edu
Ph: (817) 272-1177




RESEARCH STAFF

Dr. Ling GuDr Ling Gu obtained her Ph.D. in 2010, from Zhejiang University of China. She has worked on ion channels
in hippocampal neurons using Patch clamp Electrophysiology and Multi-electrode arrays. Dr. Gu will be carrying
out Neuro-optoelectrophysiology studies using optogenetics and other hybrid optical tools for understanding
functions of neuronal cricuitry and intervention in neuronal dysfunction.

gulingmiz@gmail.com
Ph: (817) 272-1533

 

Christopher CoteChristopher Cote, graduated in Biology and is carrying out experiments for optogenetics and motor proteins.

christopher.cote88@gmail.com
Ph: (817) 272-1533




Nelson Cardenas Nelson Cardenas, graduated in Physics and Aerospace Engineering from UT Arlington. He is working on optical imaging at the nanoscale.

cardnelso@gmail.com
Ph: (817) 272 - 1533




 

Thea BlesenerThea Blesener, graduated in Microbiology at UT Arlington. She is working with optical tweezers for studying single cell properties and interactions.


Ph: (817) 272-1533
thea.blesener@mavs.uta.edu


 

 

VISITING RESEARCHERS

Mathias VictorDr. Mathias Ajaeroh, is visiting from Nigeria. He is working with optical tweezers to study cellular biomechanics.

imajaeroh@yahoo.com
Ph: (817) 272-1533




 

Harshit LakhotiaHarshit Lakhotia, is pursuing M.S. in Physics at IISER-Kolkata. He is using Polarization microscopy to characterize microscopic samples.

innovharshit@gmail.com
Ph: (817) 272-1533




 

Amit KumarAmit Kumar, is pursuing M.S. in Physics at IISER-Kolkata. He is working on optical stimulation of cells.

amitkp.iiser@gmail.com
Ph: (817) 272-1533



 

return to top

 

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Bryan BlackBryan Black, graduated from University of North Carolina and is currently pursuing Ph. D. in Physics at UT-Arlington. Bryan is working on Multimodal imaging and manipulation.


Ph: (817) 272-1533
bblack@mavs.uta.edu



 

Kamal DhakalKamal Dhakal, is currently a Ph. D. student in Physics. Prior to joining UT-Arlington, he worked as a Ph.D. student at University of Rhodes Island. Kamal will be working on in-vivo optical imaging and Biophysical modulation of cellular network.

Ph: 817 272 1533
kamal.dhakal@mavs.uta.edu


 

Bipin JoshiBipin Joshi, graduated from University of Mumbai in Biomedical Engineering and is currently a graduate student in Bioengineering at UT-Arlington. Bipin is working on Quantitative phase microscopy and spectral phase imaging of cells and biomolecules.

Ph: 817 272 1533
bipin.joshi@mavs.uta.edu


 

Image not availableDoctoral Position in Biophotonics (Instrumentation, imaging and manipulation): Arlington, TX








return to top

 

UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCHERS

Bishorup BanjaraBishorup Banjara, pursuing B.S. in Physics, is working on optical manipulation of cancer cells.


Ph: (817) 272-1533
bishorup.banjara@mavs.uta.edu



 

Zara HassanZara Hassan, is an undergrad student in Dept of Psychology and Neuroscience. She is currently working on axonal manipulation.


Ph: (817) 272-1533
zara.hassan@mavs.uta.edu



 

Simon OrdonezSimon Ordonez, currently pursuing B.S. in Biology at University of Texas - Arlington. Simon is working on Biophysical and biochemical characterization of optical guidance and manipulation of neurons.

Ph: 817 272 1533 simon.ordonez@mavs.uta.edu



 

Aaminah AzharAaminah Azhar, is pursuing B.S. in Biology. She is currently working on an optogenetic project.


Ph: (817) 272-1533
aaminah.azhar@mavs.uta.edu




Hector TejedaHector Tejeda, pursuing B.S. in Physics (Major) and Biology (minor), is working on development of spatio-temporal optogenetic stimulation source and evaluation of new opsins for better neuronal stimulation.

Ph: 817 272 1533
hector.tejeda@mavs.uta.edu



 

Donald ThevalingamDonald Thevalingam, graduated from UT Austin in Neuroscience. He is currently working on optical stimulation of cells.

Ph: 817 272 1533
dthevalingam@gmail.com



 

Hector ZaptaHector Zapata, pursuing B.S. in Physics, is working on single motor molecule experiments.

Ph: 817-272-1533
hector.zapata@mavs.uta.edu





 

Image not availableWe are looking for Undergraduate students for research on fiber optical tweezers, life-time spectroscopy and optogenetic stimulation.







return to top

 

LAB ALUMNI

Visiting researcher:
Vijayalakshmi Varadarajan
Patrick Thomas
Yogeshwar Mishra
Meenakshi Kohli
Argha Mondal

Post doctoral fellow:
Dr. Hafez Ataya
Dr. Willard Hanson

Graduate students:
Rahul Patil
Aswini
Ninad Ingle
Mervyn Pinto
Kunal Tiwari
Suyash Chhajed
Annas Javed
Shivaranjani Shivalingaiah
Tejaswini Bhagwat
Manas Bhalerao
Harshit Vallabharao
Somdutta Chakraborty

Undergraduate Researchers:
Raji Fashafsha
Cyprian Okobi
DonDre Rose
Erica Ecstrand
Michael Hatfield
Kevin Luciani
Christian Michael Chaheine
Jeremy Stewart
Alex Villalobos

High School students:
Aubrey Korol
Anna Liu

return to top