Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Fraternity & Sorority Life Awards

Fraternity and sorority student leaders and chapters are honored annually for their hard work and dedication to the fraternity and sorority community at UT Arlington. The awards process and recognition ceremony is held each spring semester.

2015-2016 Awards Recipients 

To view photos from the 2015-2016 Awards Ceremony, click here

Dr. Kent Gardner Scholarship Recipient Emmalie Moe, Alpha Chi Omega
Dr. Kent Gardner Scholarship Recipient  Jalen Johnson, Pi Kappa Alpha
Outstanding Emerging Leader  Carter Brown, Pi Kappa Alpha
Outstanding Emerging Leader  Nathan Hoelscher, Sigma Chi
Member of the Year Laura Baker
Member of the Year Tyler Burch, Beta Theta Pi
Member of the Year Latrell Cabrigas, Lambda Phi Epsilon
Member of the Year Karar Rabib, Pi Kappa Alpha
Advisor of the Year Jackye Brown Clark, Delta Delta Delta
Outstanding Philanthropy or Community Service Award Sigma Chi, Fight Night
Mardie Sorenson Outstanding Program of the Year Delta Delta Delta, Body Image 3D
Cross Council Programming Award Lambda Phi Epsilon
Excellence in Risk Management Programming Alpha Chi Omega 
Excellence in Alumni Relations Phi Delta Theta, J Bar J
Kent Gardner Award Sigma Chi
Shirley McCraken Award Alpha Chi Omega 
MGC Outstanding Chapter Award alpha Kappa Delta Phi
NPHC Outstanding Chapter Award Sigma Gamma Rho

Pillars of Excellence


Pi Kappa Alpha (IFC)

Sigma Chi (IFC)

Zeta Tau Alpha (CPH)


Delta Alpha Sigma (MGC)

Delta Alpha Omega (MGC)

Delta Delta Delta (CPH)

Pi Kappa Alpha (IFC)

Sigma Chi (IFC)

Zeta Tau Alpha (CPH)

Top Chapters 2015-2016

Top Fraternity, Delta Alpha Omega, MGC

Top Sorority, Zeta Tau Alpha, CPH

General Information

  • All organizations and council executive board members may apply for any/all awards on behalf of their chapter, individual members, alumni, and advisors. In addition, anyone may nominate individuals for individual awards regardless of chapter affiliation.
  • Each chapter can nominate more than one member for each individual member award by submitting multiple nomination forms. Members are also allowed to nominate and apply on their own.
  • All members and chapters must be in good standing with the local, national organization and the University to be eligible for awards.

Individual Awards

Emerging Leader – Male and Female

This award recognizes a new member of a fraternity or sorority (within their first year of membership) for their contribution to their chapter, the Fraternity and Sorority Community, UT Arlington, and their potential for further leadership.

Sorority Woman of the Year/Fraternity Man of the Year

This award recognizes a Fraternity Man and/or Sorority Woman for their outstanding and continued service to the Fraternity and Sorority community at UT Arlington; strong academics; significant campus and community participation; strong personal character; and a positive role model for Fall 2015-Spring 2016. The recipients should be widely known and highly regarded in the FSL community for their lasting contributions.

Advisor of the Year

This award is designed to recognize a chapter advisor who goes above and beyond to serve the undergraduate chapter. When considering which advisor to nominate (if you have more than one), chapters should account for service to the UT Arlington F&SL community, involvement with the national fraternity or sorority, assistance/guidance provided during chapter issues, as well as overall engagement with the chapter  membership.

Chapter Awards

Outstanding Philanthropy/Community Service

To recognize chapters who display the utmost altruistic behavior with raising funds or products to benefit a pre-selected philanthropy/non-profit. The chapter receiving this award has also developed an innovative program that provides a service to the community while educating its members throughout the process. The program or activity has significantly contributed to those in attendance through engagement and education.

Cross Council Programming Award

This award recognizes the sorority or fraternity chapter that displays a genuine effort in building community among across councils. It recognizes a chapter who has collaborated or worked together with chapters outside of their organization's council during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Excellence in Risk Management Award

This award will be given to the chapter who has demonstrated excellence in the area of risk management including following all national/international rules and regulations and has proactively educated members/community. The event should have occurred between June of 2015 and March 25, 2016.

Excellence in Alumni Relations Award

This award will be presented to the chapter with the most outstanding comprehensive alumni relations program. Any events should have taken place between June 2015 and March 25, 2016.

Outstanding Program Award

This award honors the chapter who has excelled in creating successful, unique programming in any aspect of Fraternity and Sorority Life. The Outstanding Program Award is geared toward (but not limited to) the following areas:  social, educational, cultural/diversity, and scholarship. The chapter may submit more than one application for consideration if they wish.  The event should have occurred between June of 2015 and March 25, 2016.

Collaboration with a Non-F&SL organization Award

This award recognizes the sorority or fraternity chapter that displays a genuine effort in building community outside of the fraternity and sorority community. It recognizes a chapter who has collaborated or worked together with UT Arlington student organizations or departments during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Scholarships Awards

Dr. Kent Gardner Scholarship, awarded by Fraternity and Sorority Life

Erica Hochmeister Memorial Scholarship, awarded by College Panhellenic Council