Skip to content



Please support the UTA history department as we create the next generation of historically aware citizens, professionals, teachers, archivists, professors, and researchers. Your gifts support our Webb lecture series, underwrite undergraduate and graduate scholarships, and help create new opportunities to study and celebrate our history.

The Webb Lecture

Walter Prescott Webb (1888-1963) was intimately associated with The University of Texas, but his influence extended far beyond Austin to embrace Texas, the Southwest, and the world. His roots were in Texas, but his inquiry encompassed time and space from the Rio Grande to the Great Plains and the Great Frontier. Webb's association with The University of Texas at Arlington was long and close. He repeatedly asserted that this institution had a bright future, urged his and other graduate students to join its faculty, and followed its growth in size and prestige. The Department of History respectfully dedicates these lectures to the memory of Walter Prescott Webb. Originally, the Walter Prescott Webb Memorial Lectures and their publication were made possible by a generous endowment from C.B. Smith, Sr., a longtime Austin business leader.

History scholarships and awards

  • The George Wolfskill Awards
  • The Jenkins Garrett Award
  • Virginia Garrett Award in Cartographic History
  • Kenneth R. Philp Phi Alpha Theta Undergraduate Award
  • History Pre-Law Scholarship Award
  • Barksdale Essay Competition and University Scholarships
  • Ida V. Hall and George Kohfeldt Scholarship in Southwestern Studies
  • Transatlantic History Fellowships
  • Transatlantic History Research Scholarship
  • The Joseph and Barbara Penshorn Award
  • The Faye and Maurice Barksdale and Shiela and Don Babers Scholarship

How to Donate

By Check: Please mail your check payable to The University of Texas at Arlington with a completed pledge form to (Please note: your check should also include your gift designation):

Myke Holt

c/o UTA
Box 19617
Arlington, TX 76019

By Credit/Debit Card: Visit our secure online donation site

By Phone: Contact Myke Holt, Director of Development, at (817) 272-1055

If you have any questions please call (817) 272-1055.

Development Staff

For more information about giving opportunities at the History Department, please contact the Chair of the Department, Dr. Scott W. Palmer.