Image of hands holding a money ball


The Department of History is pleased to be able to offer its students numerous undergraduate scholarships and awards funded by alumni, friends of the university, and foundations that share and support the goals of the Department, College, and UTA.

The George Wolfskill Award

The Wolfskill Award was established in 1991 to recognize graduate student academic excellence and to honor the career of the late Professor George Wolfskill. Dr. Wolfskill was a prolific scholar and popular teacher who served UTA in many capacities from 1955 until his death in 1987. For many years he was invaluable as the department's graduate advisor. The Wolfskill Award is presented annually at the Walter Prescott Webb Lectures in two categories: to the masters graduate student whose overall performance, grades and written work, symbolize the excellence that Dr. Wolfskill encouraged in all his graduate students and to the Ph.D. student whose completed dissertation is deemed to be an outstanding achievement of scholarship, measuring up to the level of performance Dr. Wolfskill expected of UTA students. At the present time, the amount of the award is $250.

(Donations to the Wolfskill Award fund continue to be accepted. All contributions go entirely to the funding of the award. Checks payable to the George Wolfskill Memorial Scholarship Fund should be sent to Box 19198, The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas 76019-0198. The History Department and its students appreciate your support.)

The Jenkins Garrett Award

The Jenkins Garrett Award was established by the children of Jenkins Garrett to honor their father for his generous contributions of Greater Southwestern Studies archival materials to UTA Libraries' Special Collections Division. The annual award of $500 recognizes the best undergraduate or graduate student paper researched primarily in the Special Collections Division of the UTA Libraries. Faculty nominate students, and a faculty committee determines the winner.

Virginia Garrett Award in Cartographic History

The Virginia Garrett Award in Cartographic History commends the vision and commitment of Mrs. Virginia Garrett in interpreting and preserving cartographic history. Each year a department committee selects the best undergraduate or graduate student research paper in cartographic history. The award consists of a $500 cash prize and recognition at the Virginia Garrett Lectures, or, in alternate years, at the fall meeting of the Texas Map Society.

Kenneth R. Philp Phi Alpha Theta Undergraduate Award

The Phi Alpha Theta Undergraduate Merit Award, each year honors a student at the undergraduate level who has excelled in both the classroom generally (through an outstanding grade point average), and as an historical researcher (through the preparation of a noteworthy research paper in history. A departmental committee chooses the recipient from faculty nominations of students. The honoree each year will receive $200, and have his or her essay published as a part of the annual Barksdale Essays on the Internet, which are compiled by the History department's chapter of the national history honor society Phi Alpha Theta.

History Pre-Law Scholarship Award

The History Pre-Law Scholarship Award recognizes two undergraduate History seniors who are in the History Pre-Law option, on the basis of their superior grade point averages. In order to be considered for the awards, students must be History Pre- Law majors, currently enrolled at UTA. The awards of $200 each may be used to help defray the costs of job searches, or law or graduate school applications.

Barksdale Essay Competition and University Scholarships

For information on the annual Barksdale Essay Competition, stop by the History Department, 601 S. Nedderman Drive, 202 University Hall, write to the department at Box 19529, Arlington, TX 76019-0529, or call at (817) 272-2861.

Ida V. Hall and George Kohfeldt Scholarship in Southwestern Studies

The Ida V. Hall and George Kohfeldt Scholarship in Southwestern Studies salutes an undergraduate student each year, for the student’s interest in and excellent scholarship in relation to the native American heritage of this region. This generous recognition in the amount of $500, which was given by Ms. Ida Hall of Dallas, is presented through UTA’s Center for Greater Southwestern Studies and the History of Cartography.

David Rumsey Cartographic History Travel and Research Stipend

The David Rumsey Cartographic History Travel and Research Stipend is awarded to UTA history graduate students to visit and conduct research at Mr. Rumsey’s extensive personal library in San Francisco. Eligible students will be researching and or writing masters theses or doctoral dissertations. Up to two awards, each not exceeding $2,000 will be provided annually.

The Faye and Maurice Barksdale and Shiela and Don Babers Scholarship

Maurice Lee Barksdale and C. Donald Babers are two of University of Texas at Arlington’s proud alumni who have generously established The Faye and Maurice Barksdale and Shiela and Don Babers Scholarship to honor the outstanding undergraduate students of the History Department in the College of Liberal Arts. This award will be presented to accomplished undergraduate students who will be nominated and selected by faculty members of the History Department.

The Joseph and Barbara Penshorn Award

The Joseph and Barbara Penshorn award recognizes exceptional students majoring in the academic field of History. Deserving students will be nominated and selected by a committee of History Department faculty members, and the winning student will be honored at the annual Webb Lectures dinner. The award is in the amount of $1000.

Did you know the College of Liberal Arts also offers numerous scholarships to better support our undergraduate and graduate students? For more information visit the College’s scholarship page!


Additional information regarding scholarship oportunities is available through the UTA Financial Aid Office.

To apply for one or more of the scholarships above:

  1. Create a profile in the Mav ScholarShop site.

  2. Select the scholarship(s) for which you wish to apply. (Several History scholarships are listed below.)

  3. Complete the application process (essays, letters of recommendations, etc.) before the deadline.