Dear Colleagues,

      It is with great pleasure to announce the 2nd International Conference from Nanoparticles and Nanomaterials to Nanodevices and Nanosystems (IC4N). Following the resounding success of the 1st IC4N held in Halkidiki, Greece with the Plenary Lecture by Nobel Laureate Sir Harry Kroto, this year’s IC4N sails across the Aegean Sea to the Island of Rhodes (the island of knights), Greece.  Rhodes is the biggest island of the Dodecanese island group with magnificent scenery, beaches, and great history.  We are also pleased to announce the Aegean Nanotechnology Workshop with the objective to establish focused interaction teams to address specific nano themes. The overall conference goal is to provide a stimulating environment for interaction and foster collaboration among international participants to address global problems in energy, environment, and human health.
      We look forward to hosting you in Rhodes.

      On behalf of the Organizing Committee.

      Stathis I. Meletis, Conference Chair
      University of Texas at Arlington

Plenary Lecture

Professor, Michael Gr?zelProf. Michael Grätzel
(EPF, Lausanne, Switzerland)  
Mesoscopic Systems for Solar Energy Conversion



Keynote Lectures

Prof. Pulickel Ajayan Prof. Pulickel Ajayan
(Rice University, USA)
Engineering at the Nanoscale - Future and Challenges



Prof. Pulickel Ajayan Prof. Rena Bizios
Nanophase Materials for Medical Implant Applications: Potential, Challenges and Opportunities


Conference Topics:

  • Fundamentals of Nanoscale Materials


  • Functional Nanomaterials, Nanoclusters, Nanoparticles

      Synthesis/Characterization/Physical & Chemical Properties

  • Self Assembly at the Nanoscale
  • Nanofabrication & Nanomanufacturing
  • Nanotechnology Applications and Implications

      Bio/Energy/Environment/Human Health/Cultural

  • Nanoelectronics & Nanophotonics
  • Nanoscale Sensors & Devices
  • NEMS and Nanoscale Systems
  • NanoMultidisciplinary/New Directions
  • The Aegean Nanotechnology Workshop (sponsored by NSF)



Best Poster Paper Awards Sponsored by the Electrochemical Society, ECS

Important Dates

May 8th, 2009
Abstract Submission
May 15, 2009
Notification of Acceptance
May 29, 2009
Early Bird Registration

Organizing Committee

  • E.I. Meletis-Chair U. Texas – Arlington, USA
  • Co-Chairs M. Sitti Carnegie Mellon U., USA
  • C. Politis U. Patras, Hellas


Papers submitted will be peer reviewed and considered for publication in:

  • J Nano Research
  • Inter. J Nanomedicine
  • Interface
  • J Nanosci. Nanotechnology
  • Advanced Science Letters
  • Inter. J Modern Physics B
  • J Comp. Theor. Nanoscience

An elite volume with the Plenary, Keynote/Invited lectures, and the abstracts of contributed talks/posters is planned.

Publication Committee

  • C. Politis U. Patras, Hellas
  • K. Rajeshwar UT Arlington, USA
  • W. Schommers FZK, Germany
  • V. Teixeira U. Minho, Portugal
  • T. Webster Brown U., USA

Contact Information