Skip to content

Title V

Hispanic Serving institutions (HSI) Title V Grant

The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) Title V grant supports the success of students in transition through the I.D.E.A.S. Project (Innovation, Diversity, Excellence, Access, and Success). The proposed activities coordinate efforts from across the institution, including University College, Faculty Affairs, Distance Education, the Central Library, University leadership, and the institution-wide HSI Task Force. The grant is led by three principal investigators: Dr. Maria Martinez-Cosio, Assistant Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Dr. Carla Amaro Jimenez, Associate Professor in the College of Education and Jennifer Sutton Luken, Director of TRIO/Student Support Services.

The I.D.E.A.S. Project consists of three main components:

  1. Student Sucess through I.D.E.A.S. Center - Creation for a resource hub focused on support services designed to improve and increase undergraduate persistence and graduation rates for high-need students: Hispanic and low-income.
  2. Student Success through Efficient Use of Technology - Formation and implementation of digital (online) support services to on-campus and distance education learners
  3. Student Success through Faculty Development - Implement faculty development designed to increase cultural competence for our high-need students (i.e., Hispanic, low-income students, students in transition). In addition to support for "gateway" courses as transition into their major.

The I.D.E.A.S. Project addresses the Title V purpose to expand educational opportunities for and improve the academic attainment of transfer students, sophomores, veterans, Hispanic students and other students transitioning to a four-year institution.

UT Arlington HSI Task Force

 
  • Carla Amaro-Jimenez, Associate Professor in the College of Education, amaro@uta.edu
  • Ivonne Audirac, Associate Professor, Planning and Landscape Architecture, CAPPA, audirac@uta.edu
  • Barbara F Tobolowsky, Associate Professor in the College of Education, tobolow@uta.edu
  • Anna Michele Bobadilla, Senior Associate Vice President for Outreach Services and Community Engagement, bobadilla@uta.edu
  • Mary L Bond, Samuel T. Hughes Professor of Nursing and Co-Director, Center for Hispanic Studies in Nursing and Health (retired), College of Nursing and Health Innovation, mlbond@exchange.uta.edu
  • Elisabeth A Cawthon, Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts (COLA) cawthon@uta.edu
  • Christopher B Conway, Associate Professor, Modern Languages, COLA conway@uta.edu
  • Minerva Cordero, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs/Professor of Mathematics, College of Science cordero@uta.edu
  • James A Epperson, Associate Professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor at the Department of Mathematics, College of Science epperson@uta.edu
  • Sergio Espinosa, Associate Professor of Music, COLA espinosa@uta.edu
  • Griselle B Estrada, Clinical Instructor and Student Success Coordinator, College of Nursing and Health Innovation gestrada@uta.edu
  • Casey Gonzales, Director of Parent & Family Center, Assistant Dean of Students gonzales@uta.edu
  • Holly Hungerford-Kresser, Associate Professor, College of Education hkresser@uta.edu
  • Kathryn Pole, Assistant Professor, College of Education kpole@uta.edu
  • Mary Jo H Lyons, User Engagement and Services, Department Head, Library mjhandke@uta.edu
  • Leticia C Martinez, Director, Multicultural Affairs & LGBTQA Program martinezlc@uta.edu
  • Taryn G Allen, Assistant Professor, College of Education tozuna@uta.edu
  • Sylvia A Rawlings, Director of the Rural Health Outreach Program, College of Nursing and Health Innovation rawlings@uta.edu
  • John J Rodriguez, Associate Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice, COLA jjrodriguez@uta.edu
  • Julian Rodriguez Becerra, Lecturer, Department of Communication, COLA julian.rodriguez@uta.edu
  • Luis A Rosado, Acting Chair, Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education luis.rosado@uta.edu
  • Scott D Ryan, Dean, School of Social Work sdryan@uta.edu
  • Cristina Salinas, Assistant Professor, Department of History, COLA csalinas@uta.edu
  • Peggy L Semingson, Associate Professor, College of Education peggys@exchange.uta.edu
  • Dantrayl L Smith, Assistant Director of Transfer Services, Student Affairs dantrayl.smith@uta.edu
  • Jennifer L Sutton, Director of TRIO/Student Support Services jluken@uta.edu
  • Margarita C Trevino, Clinical Associate Professor, Director of Center for Hispanic Students in Nursing and Health, College of Nursing and Health Innovation trevinom@uta.edu
  • Tanya M Vittitow, Associate Director of Financial Aid vittitow@uta.edu
  • Christian Zlolniski, Associate Professor, History and Director of Center for Mexican American Studies chrisz@uta.edu
  • Maria Martinez-Cosio, Associate Professor, CAPPA and Assistant Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs mcosio@uta.edu