Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Committees

ANIMAlS AND ENVIRONMENT — DIRECTOR: Shannon Smith

shannon.smith@mavs.uta.edu

The Animals and Environment Committee plans and implements events that address the care and welfare of animals as well as issues surrounding the environment.

HEALTH AND HOMELESSNESS — DIRECTOR: Laura Lopez

laura.lopez71@mavs.uta.edu

The Health and Homelessness Committee works with local agencies serving the homeless population and working with health care issues serving their needs. They also plan awareness programs such as One Night Without a Home and The Hunger Banquet.

MEMBERSHIP — DIRECTOR: Chigozie izuogu

chigozie.izuogu@mavs.uta.edu

The Membership Committee plans recruitment and retention activities for UTA Volunteers. Events include Preview Day, Seasonal Socials, and the end of the year Volunteer Banquet.

SENIORS AND DISABILITIES — DIRECTOR:  Nelson ROMERO

nelsonr@uta.edu

The Seniors and Disabilities Committee works with area agencies and facilities to plan events assisting those with disabilities and senior citizens in the community.

YOUTH AND EDUCATION — DIRECTOR: Barry Evans

barry.evans@mavs.uta.edu

The Youth and Education Committee develops community opportunities addressing the needs of youth and education. Projects include The Boys and Girls Club, Hobby Crafters, and Locks of Love.

MavsACT — Darling bolanos

darling.bolanos@mavs.uta.edu

MavsACT is a pro-social committee that plans and implements programs for UTA Volunteers members and the university community to participate in activities relating to social justice issues in order to raise awareness. Examples of projects include Mavs Against Abuse, Your Vote Your Voice, and A Dreamer’s Journey supporting the rights of undocumented students (Dream Act).

President: Pearl Mehta (pmehta@uta.edu)

Vice President: heather mazer (heather.mazer@mavs.uta.edu)

Advisors:  

loretta pequeno-griffin (lgriffin@uta.edu)

Kerri Ressl(kerri@uta.edu)

CASSIE KIMBROUGH (cassiek@uta.edu)