Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Dr. Ashfaq Adnan | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
aadnan@uta.edu | WH 315C | (817) 272-2006
Nanoscale Phenomena and Multiscale Analysis, Mechanics of Engineering Nanomaterials, Mechanics of Polymer and Advanced Materials, Fracture Mechanics. Research website

Dr. Dereje Agonafer Dr. Dereje Agonafer | Faculty Profile
Professor
agonafer@uta.edu | WH 211A | (817) 272-7377
Electronic packaging, heat transfer, thermal engineering. Research website

Dr. Miguel Amaya Dr. Miguel Amaya | Faculty Profile
Senior Lecturer and ME Undergraduate Advisor
mamaya@uta.edu | WH 204D | (817) 272-9266
Two-phase heat and mass transfer - boiling, evaporation, wetting.

Dr. Erian Armanios Dr. Erian Armanios | Faculty Profile
Professor and Chair
armanios@uta.edu| WH 211B | (817) 272-2062
Computational solid mechanics, analysis, testing and design of composite structures, failure characterization and prediction, elastic tailoring, energy dissipation, implementation of active materials for flow control and nondeterministic methods for structural prognostics.

Dr. Pranesh Aswath Dr. Pranesh Aswath | Faculty Profile
Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
aswath@uta.edu| WH 325B | (817) 272-7108
Synthesis, processing and characterization of ceramics, intermetallics and composites. Deformation, creep, fatigue and environmental degradation of materials. Analytical electron microscopy, Auger spectroscopy, X-ray diffraction, EPMA. Processing and properties of ceramic matrix composites and Ceramic coatings for Biological applications. Tribology and Lubrication.

Dr. Alan Bowling Dr. Alan Bowling | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
bowling@uta.edu | WH 315A | (817) 272-0206
Multibody Dynamics, Control, Robotics, and Biomechanics. Research website

Dr. Wen Chan Dr. Wen Chan | Faculty Profile
Professor and Director of the Center for Composite Materials
chan@uta.edu | WH 300B | (817) 272-5638
Composite structure design, mechanics of composite materials, material behavior of composites, finite element analysis, damage tolerance and durability, fracture mechanics and fatigue analysis, and smart structures.

Dr. Bernd Chudoba Dr. Bernd Chudoba | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
chudoba@uta.edu| WH 316B | (817) 272-1436
Director of Aerospace Vehicle Design Lab, Capstone Design Core Class Lecturer, Multi-Disciplinary Vehicle Design, Hypersonic Vehicle Design, Systems Engineering, Technology Forecasting and Product Life Cycle.

Dr. D. Stefan Dancila Dr. D. Stefan Dancila | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
dancila@uta.edu | WH 414 | (817) 272-0833
Solid mechanics; composite and smart materials/structures; tailoring of elastic deformation, failure modes, and energy dissipation; inflatable space structures; space tethers; fatigue and fracture; nondestructive evaluation; piezoelectric actuation and flow control; rotorcraft; high altitude airships; composite prosthetics; renewable energy.

Dr. Brian Dennis Dr. Brian Dennis | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
dennisb@uta.edu | WH 316C | (817) 272-7379
Computation fluid dynamics; multidisciplinary design optimization; finite element methods applied to fluid & solid mechanics, heat transfer, and electromagnetics; inverse problems; parallel computing including the design, construction, and programming of Beowulf-type PC clusters; development of high performance computing software, unstructured mesh generation and deformation.Research website

Dr. Atilla Dogan Dr. Atilla Dogan | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
dogan@uta.edu| WH 315H | (817) 272-3744
Nonlinear Control, Stochastic Control, Monte Carlo Simulation, Robust Control, Flight Dynamics and Control, Nonlinear Flight Simulation, Aircraft Escape Maneuvers in Microburst with Turbulence, Automatic Transmission Modeling and Control.

Dr. Raul Fernandez Dr. Raul Fernandez | Faculty Profile
Professor in Practice
fernandez@uta.edu| ELB 253 | (817) 966-5975
Product design, development and commercialization; manufacturing, process automation, robotics; dynamic systems

Dr. A. Haji-Sheikh Dr. A. Haji-Sheikh | Faculty Profile
Professor
haji@uta.edu | WH 300C | (817) 2722010
Heat transfer analysis in conduction, convection, and radiation, and fluid flow and heat transfer in ducts and heat exchangers.

Dr. Zhen Zue Han Dr. Zhen Xue Han | Faculty Profile
Senior Lecturer and AE Undergraduate Advisor
han@uta.edu | WH 204B | (817) 272-7376
Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer; air-breathing propulsion system; turbomachinary; multidisciplinary design optimization.

Dr. Ben Harris Dr. Ben Harris | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
pben@uta.edu | ELB 205 | (817) 272-9337
Global Positioning System (GPS) and GPS receiver performance, spacecraft systems engineering, embedded system design, software development.

Dr. Haiying Huang Dr. Haiying Huang | Faculty Profile
Professor
huang@uta.edu | WH 315F | (817) 272-0563
Optical fiber sensor, structural health monitoring, solid mechanics, fracture mechanics, fatigue, computational mechanics, composite materials. Research website

Dr. David Hullender Dr. David Hullender | Faculty Profile
Professor
hullender@uta.edu | WH 304B | (817) 272-2014
Machine vibration and stress analysis, hydraulic pneumatic and mechanical systems design and analysis, compressible and incompressible fluid dynamics, modeling and computer simulation, and analysis of random and stochastic processes.

Dr. Ankur Jain Dr. Ankur Jain | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
jaina@uta.edu | ELB 203 | (817) 272-9338
Microscale Energy Conversion, Microscale Heat Transport, Bio-MEMS, Micro-Electromechanical Systems, Semiconductor Thermal Management, 3D Integrated Circuits. Research website

Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari | Faculty Profile
President, Professor
vkarbhari@uta.edu | DH 321 | (817) 272-2101
Processing and mechanics of composites, deterioration science of polymers and composites, bio-materials, infrastructure renewal and multi-threat mitigation (including blast), sustainability, impact/damage mechanics and crash energy management, nondestructive assessment of materials and structures, damage prognosis, and structural health monitoring.

Dr. Daejong Kim Dr. Daejong Kim | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
daejongkim@uta.edu | WH 213 | (817) 272-7620
Turbo machinery aerodynamics, Modeling and system dynamics of solid oxide fuel cell and gas turbine hybrid systems, Advanced oil-free bearings for turbo machinery, Non-linear rotor dynamics.

Dr. Ratan Kumar Dr. Ratan Kumar | Faculty Profile
Professor in Practice
ratan.kumar@uta.edu | WH 306A | (817) 272-0740
Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer; FEA for structures; machine design; Web-based education.

Dr. Kent Lawrence Dr. Kent Lawrence | Faculty Profile
Professor
lawrence@uta.edu | WH 300D | (817) 272-2019
Stress and vibration analysis, structural analysis, structural dynamics, finite element methods, and computer aided engineering.

Dr. Frank Lu Dr. Frank Lu | Faculty Profile
Professor and Director of the Aerodynamics Research Center
franklu@uta.edu| NH 249 | (817) 272-2083
Fluid dynamics, shock and viscous phenomena, aerodynamic heating, jets and sprays, supersonic and hypersonic flows, propulsion, detonation, fuel reformation and power production, fail-safe construction, shape memory alloys, natural convection, flow visualization, and instrumentation and facility development. Research website

Dr. Cheng Luo Dr. Cheng Luo | Faculty Profile
Professor
chengluo@uta.edu | WH 215 | (817) 272-7366
Design, modeling and fabrication of nanosystems and biomicrosystems, and solid mechanics.

Dr. Luca Maddalena Dr. Luca Maddalena | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
maddalena@uta.edu | WH 315E | (817) 272-1123
Hypersonic air-breathing propulsion; Injection, mixing and combustion in high-speed flows; Vortex dynamics; Experimental fluid dynamics; Instrumentation; Advanced propulsion configurations. Research website

Dr. Andrew Makeev Dr. Andrew Makeev | Faculty Profile
Professor
makeev@uta.edu | WH 225
Composite and metallic materials, structural methods, prognostics and reliability. Research website

Dr. Luca Massa Dr. Luca Massa | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
massa@uta.edu | WH 315C | (817) 272-2006
Combustion, Detonation, Propellant, Hypersonic Flows, Flow Stability, Computational Fluid Dynamics, High Performance Parallel Computing.

Dr. Luca Massa Dr. Dennis Desheng Meng | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
dmeng@uta.edu | ELB 252 | (817) 272-3413
Scalable micro and nano manufacturing for energy, sustainability and biomedical applications, microbial electrolysis cells (MECs), microfluidic encapsulation for self-healing materials, drug delivery and 3D-printable tissue engineering.

Dr. Nancy Michael Dr. Nancy Michael | Faculty Profile
Senior Lecturer, ME Undergraduate Advisor
michael@uta.edu | WH 204C | (817) 272-1258
Electronic materials, integrated circuit interconnect technology, materials characterization, (SEM, XRD, AES, XPS).

Dr. Hyejin Moon Dr. Hyejin Moon | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
hyejin.moon@uta.edu | WH 306B | (817) 272-2017
Micro/Nanosciences, BioMEMS/BioNEMS, Micro/Nanofluidics, Lab-on-a-Chip, Diagnostic Technology. Research website

Dr. Robert Mullins Dr. Robert "Bob" Mullins | Faculty Profile
Professor in Practice
mullins@uta.edu | WH 302 | (817) 272-2896
Aircraft, rotorcraft, and missile analysis; design, and modeling, manufacturing and systems engineering, integrated weapon systems design including radar and IR system analysis, design, and simulation.

Dr. Seiichi Nomura Dr. Seiichi Nomura | Faculty Profile
Professor
nomura@uta.edu | WH 304D | (817) 272-2012
Micromechanics, Analysis of Composite Materials, Functionally Graded Materials (FGM), Applied Mathematics.

Dr. Panos Shiakolas Dr. Panos Shiakolas | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
shiakolas@uta.edu| WH 315D | (817) 272-5715
Robotics Automation, Application of Robotics for Industrial Processes, Agile and Reconfigurable Automation/Manufacturing Systems, Modeling-Simulation and Controls, Mechanical Systems and Machine Design, Kinematics and Dynamics, Computer Aided Design- Manufacturing-Robotics. Research website

Dr. Donghyun Shin Dr. Donghyun Shin | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
shin@uta.edu | ELB 204 | (817) 272-9336
Nano/Mirco-scale Heat Transfer Phenomena, Advanced Nanomaterials for High Temperature Applications, Heat Transfer Fluid & Energy Storage for Renewable Energy Technologies.

Dr. Dudley Smith Dr. Dudley Smith | Faculty Profile
Professor in Practice
dudleys@uta.edu | WH 302 | (817) 272-2896
Former Bell Technical Fellow of Advanced Concepts and Preliminary Design. Primary focus is on the Conceptual and Preliminary Design of Aircraft and Vertical Lift/Rotorcraft with a secondary research interest in Propulsion.

Dr. Kamesh Subbarao Dr. Kamesh Subbarao | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
subbarao@uta.edu | WH 315G | (817) 272-7467
Nonlinear and Robust Adaptive Control, Dynamical Systems Theory, Estimation and System Identification, Flight Control Systems, Optimal Spacecraft Maneuvers, Multi-Resolution Mathematical Modeling and Simulation methodologies.Research website

Dr. Robert Taylor Dr. Robert Taylor | Faculty Profile
Professor in Practice
taylorrm@uta.edu | WH 214 B | (817) 272-9341
Structural design and optimization, design for manufacture, design for additive manufacture, 3-D printed structures, finite element analysis, solid mechanics.

Dr. Albert Tong Dr. Albert Tong | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
tong@uta.edu | WH 206A | (817) 272-2297
Spray combustion, numerical modeling of heat transfer, and fluid flow.

Dr. B.P. Wang Dr. B.P. Wang | Faculty Profile
Professor
bpwang@uta.edu | WH 304C | (817) 272-3426
Finite element analysis, structural optimization, vibration, and structural dynamics.

Dr. Don Wilson Dr. Don Wilson | Faculty Profile
Professor
wilson@uta.edu | WH 206B | (817) 272-2072
Gas dynamics, aerospace propulsion systems, high-speed aerodynamics, hypersonic flow, and experimental fluid dynamics. Research website

Dr. Ray Wimberly Dr. Ray Wimberly | Faculty Profile
Senior Lecturer
wimberly@uta.edu | WH 211E | (817) 272-3240
Advanced Dynamics, Flight Dynamics, Heat Transfer, Transpiration Cooling, Hydro/Ocean/Buoy Dynamics.

Dr. Robert Woods Dr. Robert L. Woods | Faculty Profile
Professor and Faculty Advisor Formula SAE
woods@uta.edu | WH 304A | (817) 996-0707
Dynamic systems, modeling and simulation, control systems, fluid power control, fluidics, microprocessor and digital controls, logic systems, automotive engineering.

Dr. Bo Yang Dr. Bo Yang | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
boyang@uta.edu | ELB 202 | (817) 272-9335
Nano/microscale mass transport, fluid-structure interaction, fracture mechanics, defect mechanics, composites, computational methods

MAE Adjunct Instructors

Hays-Stang, Kathy - haysstang@uta.edu - WH 323-J

Joshi, Dibesh - djoshi@uta.edu - NH 123

Kashefi, Fred - fkashefi@uta.edu - WH 315-C

Kebrle, John - kebrle@uta.edu - WH 323-G

Ma, Steven - stevenma@uta.edu - WH 323-G

Musielak, Dora - dmusielak@uta.edu - SH 132-B

Philobos, Mahera - philobos@uta.edu - WH 214-C

Puligandla, Viswam - viswam@uta.edu - WH 323-F

Rodriguez, Adrian - adrian@uta.edu - NH 123

Van Lear, Brian - bvanlear@uta.edu - WH 323-H

Vergine, Fabrizio - fabrizio@uta.edu - ARC