MAGIC Center Director
Dr. Leila Ladani
The University of Texas at Arlington Research Institute (UTARI), Room 303
7300 Jack Newell Blvd S,
Fort Worth, TX 76118
Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Lead Scientist, UTARI, Institute for Predictive Performance Methodologies
Affiliated Professor, BioEngineering Department
Affiliated Professor, Materials Science and Engineering Department
University of Texas at Arlington

PhD, Mechanical Engineering, Solid Mechanics,
University of Maryland, 2007
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Solid Mechanics,
University of Maryland, 2005
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Heat and Fluid Mechanics, 
Isfahan University of Technology, 2001
B.S., Mechanical Engineering,
Isfahan University of Technology, 1999

Current Members

Koushik Paul

Graduate Student

  Koushik is a graduate student pursuing PhD degree in Mechanical Engineering. He is currently conducting research on high-frequency ultrasound analysis to determine soft tissue microstructure/pathology. He is also working on the design of biomedical forceps.

Faiyaz Ahsan

Graduate Student

  Faiyaz Ahsan is a Graduate Student pursuing a PhD Degree in Mechanical Engineering. His Research Interest Includes Multi-scale Manufacturing and Additive Manufacturing. He is currently doing simulation on Additive Manufacturing. He is also working on Investigation of the microstructure of Additively Manufactured Parts.

Md Jamal Mian

Ph.D. Student

  Jamal is a graduate student pursuing a PhD degree in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington. His current research work includes elevated temperature characterization of Ti6Al4V parts built using electron beam melting technology. Some of his previous works include molecular dynamics simulation of thermal transport of various semiconductor materials.

Seungyoon Lee

Undergraduate Student

  Seungyoon Lee is a Mechanical Engineering undergraduate who researches under Dr. Razmi. He studies mechanical fatigue of steel piles in integral abutment bridges followed by seismic load.

Jordan Miller

Undergraduate Student

  Jordan is a Mechanical Engineering undergraduate. She is working on design and fabrication of novel materails for applications such as fuel cells.

Lauren Savage

Undergraduate Student

  Lauren studies application of CNTs in new materials used at the interface of biological application such as neurons.

Jorge Fernandez Losada

Undergraduate Student

  Jorge is an undergraduate student working under Dr. Ladani while he completes his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering at UTA. Currently he is assisting PhD Student Koushik by working on the design for biomedical forceps. Once he graduates, he plans on getting a masters degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Garrison Frost

Undergraduate Student

  Garrison is an undergraduate in the Aerospace Engineering program of UT Arlington. He will be working on micro/nanofabrication, and the development of seed layer for electrodeposition of copper.

Sunil Aravind Shanmugasundaram

Undergraduate Student

  Sunil Aravind is an Undergraduate student pursuing Bachelors of Science in Mechanical Engineering. His research project is focused on the study of microstructures, and surface roughness and their effects on the mechanical properties of Electron Beam Melting produced Ti-6Al-4V parts.

Past Members


Dr. Ousama Abdelhadi         Dr. Andrew Magee              Dr. Soud Choudhury              Dr. Ibrahim Awad               Dr. Jeremy Stromer
               2012                                      2014                                        2016                                        2016                                       2016


   Shiuan-Duo Chiang            James Gyllenskog                  Steve Nelson                    Omar Rodriguez                   Lorin Stevens                 

      Kanchan Trivedi                       Lalit Roy                           Evan Harvey                     Magda Sadowski                  Christian Barr                   

       John Romano                    Andrew Magee               Richard Andreotta


     Zakia Ahmed                       Bhuwan KC                      Justin Battles                    Jeremy Brine                  Samantha Brown

  Emma Whitaker                  Roger Rozanski                 Daniel Preston                  Sarah Johnson                  Jordan Bentley

      Kelsey Terry                   Alexis Papadelias              Andrew Feazell                  Justin Watters                 Thomas Brainerd

      David Kilgo                      Brittney Ellison             Samantha Brantley                Jason Carter                      Kiomarys Toro

  Magda Sadowski               Crystal Frazier                   Andrew Magee

Visiting Researchers

          Ahmed Korba             Ali KeshawarzeKermani              Ariel Jacob                      Kirthika Suresh                 

                             Trupti Gosavi                        Michael Difrancesco                   Virginia Faustini                   

     David Benson              Nickolas Clements              Ruth Williams                    Nickolay Kolev                  Erik Denlinger

Everett Miller-Smith