Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Thermal Science and Energy Systems

The departmental laboratories contain diverse modern equipment and instruments, permitting a varied experimental program. These include laboratories for automatic controls and systems engineering, fluid power and fluids, automotive engineering, computer-aided design and manufacturing, dynamics and vibration, materials science, composite materials, smart structures, robotics, thermal sciences, computational and experimental fluid dynamics, turbulence, aerodynamics, aerothermodynamics, propulsion, flight dynamics, guidance, navigation, and control.

Research Faculty in Thermal Science and Energy Systems

Dr. Dereje Agonafer Dr. Dereje Agonafer | Faculty Profile
Professor
agonafer@uta.edu | WH 211A | (817) 272-7377
Electronic packaging, heat transfer, thermal engineering.

Dr. A. Haji-Sheikh Dr. A. Haji-Sheikh | Faculty Profile
Professor
haji@uta.edu | WH 300C | (817) 2722010
Heat transfer analysis in conduction, convection, and radiation, and fluid flow and heat transfer in ducts and heat exchangers.

Dr. Ankur Jain Dr. Ankur Jain | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
jaina@uta.edu | ELB 203 | (817) 272-9338
Microscale Energy Conversion, Microscale Heat Transport, Bio-MEMS, Micro-Electromechanical Systems, Semiconductor Thermal Management, 3D Integrated Circuits.

Dr. Daejong Kim Dr. Daejong Kim | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
daejongkim@uta.edu | WH 213 | (817) 272-7620
Turbo machinery aerodynamics, Modeling and system dynamics of solid oxide fuel cell and gas turbine hybrid systems, Advanced oil-free bearings for turbo machinery, Non-linear rotor dynamics.

Dr. Hyejin Moon Dr. Hyejin Moon | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
hyejin.moon@uta.edu | WH 306B | (817) 272-2017
Micro/Nanosciences, BioMEMS/BioNEMS, Micro/Nanofluidics, Lab-on-a-Chip, Diagnostic Technology.

Dr. Albert Tong Dr. Albert Tong | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
tong@uta.edu | WH 206A | (817) 272-2297
Spray combustion, numerical modeling of heat transfer, and fluid flow.

Dr. Ray Wimberly Dr. Ray Wimberly | Faculty Profile
Senior Lecturer
wimberly@uta.edu | WH 211E | (817) 272-3240
Advanced Dynamics, Flight Dynamics, Heat Transfer, Transpiration Cooling, Hydro/Ocean/Buoy Dynamics.