Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Dr. EfsathiosDr. Efstathios "Stathis" I. Meletis | Faculty profile
Professor and Chair
meletis@uta.edu
817-272-2559 (Lab: 817-272-0656)
Surface engineering, plasma processes, thin films and coatings, nanomaterials, nanotribology, biomaterials, corrosion

Dr. Pranesh AswathDr. Pranesh Aswath | Faculty profile
Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs
aswath@uta.edu
817-272-0308
Ceramics, titanium composites, bioactive materials, tribology, civil structures

Dr. Nai Yuen ChenDr. Nai Yuen Chen
Distinguished Research Professor, Member of NAE
nychen@uta.edu

Dr. Ronald ElsenbaumerDr. Ronald Elsenbaumer | Faculty profile
Professor, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
elsenbaumer@uta.edu
817-272-3171
Electrically conductive polymers, enhanced lubricants and coatings

Dr. Yahowu HaoDr. Yahowu Hao | Faculty profile
Associate Professor
yhao@uta.edu
817-272-0752 (Lab: 817-272-0303)
Metal and Magnetic Nanostructures

Dr. Jiechao C. JiangDr. Jiechao C. Jiang | Faculty profile
Research Associate Professor and CCMB Facility Manager
jiang@uta.edu
817-272-0841
Surface engineering, plasma processes, thin films and coatings, nanomaterials, nanotribology, biomaterials, corrosion

Dr. Choong-Un KimDr. Choong-Un Kim | Faculty profile
Professor
choongun@uta.edu
817-272-5497
Thin-film metallurgy, phase transformation, reliability physics of microelectronics

Dr. Wiley KirkDr. Wiley Kirk | Faculty Profile
Research Professor
kirk@uta.edu
972-742-8856
Growth and design of heterostructure materials for photovoltaic and nanoscale devices, physics of charge transport and magneto-conduction mechanisms in materials

Dr. Seong Jin KohDr. Seong Jin Koh | Faculty profile
Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor
skoh@uta.edu
817-272-1223
Nano-electronic devices, sensor for molecular level detection, surface science

Dr. Fuqiang LiuDr. Fuqiang Liu | Faculty profile
Associate Professor
fuqiang@uta.edu
817-272-2704
Electrochemical engergy conversion and storage

Dr. Constatin PolitisDr. Constantin Politis
Distinguished Research Professor
politis@uta.edu

Dr. Wolfram SchommersDr. Wolfram Schommers
Distinguished Research Professor
schommers@uta.edu

Dr. Harry F. TibbalsDr. Harry F. Tibbals | Faculty Profile
Research Professor
HFTibbals@uta.edu

Dr. Kyungsuk YumDr. Kyungsuk Yum | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
kyum@uta.edu
817-272-9546
Biologically-inspired materials and systems, nanomaterials, nanobiotechnology

Affiliated Faculty

In addition to the MSE core faculty, a number of professors from other departments in the College of Engineering and the College of Science at UTA participate in the Materials Science and Engineering Program. They collaborate in research projects with the faculty and mentor Materials Science and Engineering students.

Bioengineering

  • Dr. Kytai Nguyen
    Dr. Kytai Nguyen

Chemistry

  • Dr. Rasika Dias
    Dr. Rasika Dias
  • Dr. Peter Kroll
    Dr. Peter Kroll
  • Dr. Krishnan Rajeshwar
    Dr. Krishnan Rajeshwar
  • Dr. Richard B. Timmons
    Dr. Richard B. Timmons

Civil Engineering

  • Dr. Ali Abolmaali
    Dr. Ali Abolmaali

Electrical Engineering

  • Dr. Zeynep Celik-Butler
    Dr. Zeynep Celik-Butler
  • Dr. Samir Iqbal
    Dr. Samir Iqbal
  • Dr. David Wetz
    Dr. David Wetz
  • Dr. Weidong Zhou
    Dr. Weidong Zhou

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

  • Dr. Wen S. Chan
    Dr. Wen S. Chan
  • Dr. Haiying Huang
    Dr. Haiying Huang
  • Dr. Panos Shiakolas
    Dr. Panos S. Shiakolas

Physics

  • Dr. Wei Chen
    Dr. Wei Chen
  • Dr. Ali R. Koymen
    Dr. Ali R. Koymen
  • Dr. J. Ping Liu
    Dr. J. Ping Liu
  • Dr. Samarendra Mohanty
    Dr. Samarendra Mohanty
  • Dr. Joseph Ngai
    Dr. Joseph Ngai
  • Dr. Suresh Sharma
    Dr. Suresh Sharma
  • Dr. Alex Weiss
    Dr. Alex Weiss