Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Towards Organic Electronics: Methods for the Selective Deposition of Semiconductors and Metals

October 11, 2013 | 11:00 AM till 12:30 PM
NH 100 | Seminar Flyer

Seminar Speaker

Dr. Amy V. Walker

Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering University of Texas at Dallas


We describe recent progress in our laboratories to build robust complex two- and three-dimensional molecular constructs. This work has important applications in photovoltaics, molecular and organic electronics, sensing, photonics and other technologies. Several recent developments are discussed including the chemical bath deposition and atomic layer deposition of ZnS and ZnO, the UV photoassisted chemical vapor deposition of Al, and the formation of metallic and semiconducting nanowires on micron-scale patterned surfaces. Optimization and further development of these techniques requires a detailed understanding of the reaction pathways involved in the interaction of organic thin films with metals, organometallic compounds, ions, and other compounds.


Amy V. Walker is an Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Texas at Dallas. She was previously an Assistant Professor of Chemistry and an inaugural member of the Center for Materials Innovation at Washington University in St. Louis. She holds a B.A. in physics and a Ph.D. in chemistry from Cambridge University in England. Her research concerns the development of simple, robust methods for constructing complex two- and three- dimensional structures by manipulating interfacial chemistry, as well as surface/imaging analytical techniques for probing the structures produced. The primary technique employed in her research group is time-of-flight secondary ion mass spectrometry (TOF SIMS), and she has an active program in the development of TOF SIMS and data analysis. To date Amy has published over 60 papers and 4 book chapters. In recognition of her research she was awarded an ACS Progress/Dreyfus Lectureship in 2008, a DuPont Young Professor Grant in 2006 and a Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award in 2003.