Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Fall 2015 Multicultural Mavericks Membership Requirements

To remain a Multicultural Mavs member in good standing, students must complete at least 6 out of 8 requirements listed below per semester.

FALL SEMESTER

Required

Multicultural mavs meetings and orientation (2 out of 7)

• Orientation: Thursday, September 10, 6 – 8 p.m.,
    UC Rio    Grande
• Friday, September 25, noon-1 p.m., UC Guadalupe
• Friday, October 9, noon-1 p.m., College Hall Rm 101
• Friday, October 23, noon-1 p.m., College Hall Rm 101
• Friday, November 6, noon-1 p.m., College Hall Rm 101
• Friday, November 20, noon-1p.m., College Hall Rm 101

2

Hispanic Heritage Month

• Kick-Off (tabling)-Tuesday, Sept. 15, 11:30am-1:30pm, UC Palo Duro/ Library Mall/Engineering Mall south
• From Here to Havana- U.S. and Cuban Relations Featuring Dr. David LaFevor
Monday, Sept. 21, Noon – 1p.m, UC Red River
• Latin@ Student Excellence Discussion Panel-
Wednesday, Sept. 30, UC Red River, 6pm – 8pm
• Dia de los Muertos (Gallery)-
Wednesday, Oct. 14, Time TBD,
• Global Grounds -Día de los Muertos
Thursday, Oct. 15, 4:00pm – 5:30pm, UC Palo Duro

2

Asian Heritage Month

• One Night in Asia
Monday, November 2, UC Bluebonnet, 6:30pm – 9:00pm
• AHM Event #2/International Ed week Event - TBD
Wednesday, November 4, Time & Location TBD
• AHM Event #3 - TBD
Tuesday, November 17, Time & Location TBD
• AHM Global Grounds
Thursday, November 19, 4:00pm – 5:30pm

2

Social Service and Campus Tradition
-
Can do multiple events but only 1 will count

• Ubuntu service project*- Friday, November 6th
*Must be registered for Ubuntu conference to be eligible
• UTA Volleyball Night with the President- October 30
• Bed Races-
Wednesday, October 7,
• Sign up deadline: Friday, September 25, 5 p.m.($5, non-refundable)
• Homecoming Float- Saturday November 14
o Sign up deadline: Must be a member in good standing by Nov. 6

 

1

Social Justice – can attend multiple workshops but only one will count
Maversity
• Thursday, September 17, 12:30 – 1:30, New Student Congress Chambers
• Monday, September 28, Noon – 1 p.m., UC Concho
• Thursday, October 15, 12:30 – 1:30, UC Palo Pinto
• Wednesday, October 28, Noon – 1 p.m., UC Guadalupe
• Wednesday, November 18, Noon – 1 p.m., UC Concho
Ubuntu Conference
• Saturday November 7, 8:30 – 4 p.m., MAC Court
o Early Bird Registration: September 30, 5 p.m. ($5, non-refundable)
o Regular Registration: October 28, 5 p.m., ($10, non-refundable)
• Registration fee is the responsibility of the participant

 

1

Total

8

 

Member Recognition

Multicultural Maverick members can earn special prizes based on their level of participation. Visit the member recognition page to learn more!

Multicultural Mavericks Member Check List Fall 2015

Multicultural Mavericks Members! Track your progress on requirements on the requirement checklist form.
-