Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.


New McNair Scholars Named for spring

News Releases Archives

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Teresa Newton

ARLINGTON - Sixteen new McNair Scholars have been named at The University of Texas at Arlington.

The McNair Scholars Program is designed to prepare qualified UT Arlington undergraduates for graduate study culminating in doctorate. The program thus provides many benefits to assist scholars to become more competitive in the graduate school application process, leading to their admission to top-ranked programs and facilitating a smooth integration into graduate-level work.

The scholars are Keduse Agonafer, mechanical engineering; Hollis Cobb, sociology; Matthew Davis, psychology; Steven Emenhiser, geology; Stephanie Fenniri, interdisciplinary studies; Whitney Hansen, English; Mary Faye Hanson, sociology; Derrick Love-Jones, nursing; Christopher Mangus, art/film/video; Patricia Mann, philosophy and English; Andrew Palacios, biology; Juandell Parker, interdisciplinary studies; Crystal Red Eagle, physics; Bruce Rollins, exercise science; Neri Sandoval, English; and Wendy Shepard, history.

The Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program was created by the U.S. Congress to pay tribute to Dr. McNair, a scientist who perished aboard the space shuttle Challenger in 1986. The goal of the McNair program is to assist promising students from low-income/first-generation or underrepresented backgrounds to enter the professoriate. It is founded upon the premise that neither socio-economic nor minority status should prevent talented students from pursuing a career in teaching and research at the college or university level.

Learn more about the program at Contact Joan Reinhardt at 817-272-3715 or for details.


The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action employer.