Home > MSN > MSN Administration

MSN Administration


Description: Dr. Cohen

Philip Cohen, PhD, MA, BA
Dean of Graduate School

Dr. Philip Cohen is the Dean of the Graduate School. Since 1986, he has been a faculty member in the English Department at The University of Texas at Arlington. He chaired the English Department for four years before becoming first the Associate Dean and then Dean of the Graduate School. Dr. Cohen has published widely on American literature, William Faulkner, and textual scholarship and editorial theory. His scholarly work has been supported by summer stipend and travel grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Dr. Cohen received a Bachelor's degree from American University, a Master's degree from the University of Southern California, and his PhD from the University of Delaware. 

Description: Dr. Gray

Jennifer Gray, PhD, RN
Associate Dean & Graduate Advisor (Interim Dean)
Chair, Nursing Administration, Education, & Research Programs

Dr. Jennifer Gray has been a faculty member at the UT Arlington College of Nursing since 1989. She received her BSN from Central State University in Edmond, OK, and her MSN from UT Arlington. She earned her PhD from Texas Woman’s University in Denton, TX.  Dr. Gray was named as the George W. and Hazel M. Jay Professor in Nursing in 2006. She has been recognized as a member of UT Arlington’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers and is a past recipient of the UT Arlington Chancellor’s Award. She was named an Anne Zimmerman RN Scholar by the American Nurses Foundation in 2008. In 2009, she was named a Healthcare Hero by the Fort Worth Business Press and Healthpoint®. In 2010, she was designated as a Piper Professor, a state-level higher education teaching award. Dr. Gray’s primary research interests include measuring outcomes of HIV/AIDS education for health care professionals in the U.S. and internationally, self management and health seeking behaviors of African American women living with HIV, and medication adherence among persons living with HIV/AIDS.

Description: Picture of Dr. Schira

Mary Schira, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC

Dr. Mary Schira received a BSN from the Ohio State University, a MS in Nursing from Duke University, a PhD in Nursing from the Medical College of Georgia, and a Post-MSN Certificate as an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner from The University of Texas at Arlington.  Dr. Schira joined the faculty at UTA in 1995 and is an Associate Dean and Graduate Advisor for the College of Nursing. In addition, Dr. Schira is the Director of the Acute Care.  Dr. Schira was the Principal Investigator on 2 HRSA Grants to develop the Acute Care (2000 - 2003) and the Emergency (2004-2007) Nurse Practitioner Programs.  Dr. Schira's scholarship includes publications and presentations regarding kidney disease, mentoring, and leadership.  She is active in the American Nephrology Nurses Association, serving on the editorial board of the Nephrology Nursing Journal and as a past member of the Advanced Practice Special Interest Group.  She also is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and maintains part time clinical practice.