Dead content on the web server is created when content (pages or folders) inside the CMS database (cms.uta.edu) is deleted or moved. Make sure the content is unpublished before moving or deleting it. Otherwise the page in the old location will stay on the web server indefinitely. Only EOS has the rights to manually delete pages/folders from the production web server.
The CMS maintains link integrity on content being moved inside the CMS database. If content is deleted, however, the links referring to it from other pages break. The CMS checks for broken links during the publishing process. It is a good practice to periodically publish the entire business unit (EOS, EIS, CS, etc.) and fix the links listed as broken on the publishing report. The person publishing will get the publishing report. Click on each broken link and edit the page to fix it.
The CMS should give warnings to help enforce these best practices, but has been inconsistent at times. Hannon Hill has been improving in this area, but the warnings can be ignored by the user.
Please remember that publishing large sites (100 + pages) will block the publishing queue for over one hour. Entire sites should be published after hours.