The University of Texas at Arlington

Undergraduate Assembly



The Undergraduate Assembly met in regular session on Tuesday, September 20, 2005, at 2:15 p.m. in the UC Rio Grande B. Provost Dana Dunn presided.









Dana Dunn




Michael Moore




Amy Ables




Jane Ahrens




Deborah Behan




Bill Carroll




Jinny Choi




Tom Christie




Andrew Clark




Phil Cohen




Richard Cole




James Epperson




Donald Gatzke




Jeanne Gerlach




Karen Given



Jacqueline Michael

James Grover




Robert Gunnip




Todd Hamilton




Andy Hansz




D. L. Hawkins




Santos Hernandez




Melinda Hiemenz




Dan Himarios




Karen Johannesson




Carl Lovely




Dennis Marynick




Robert McMahon




Sung Seek Moon




Jim Munch




Paul Paulus




Lynn Peterson




Karl Petruso




Elizabeth Poster




Anand Puppala




Steve Quevedo




Dennis Reinhartz




Allen Repko




Lana Rings




Jamie Rogers




Zac Sanders




Gerald Saxon




Marilee Schmelzer




Chandra Subramaniam




Saibun Tjuatja




Mike Ward




Tom Watts




Alison White




Judy Wilson




Beth Wright




Kai Yeung




Lara Zwarun





Approval of Minutes. The minutes of the regular meeting on April 12, 2005, were approved as published.


Report of the Academic Standards Committee. David Gray presented the following policy recommendation approved by the Academic Standards Committee.


1. Undergraduate students must declare a major before they have accumulated 75 semester credit hours. An enrollment hold will be placed on a student who has completed 75 semester credit hours and has not declared a major. Students who have reached 60 hours and have not declared a major will be notified of this policy.


2. Students transferring to UTA with 75 or more hours must be admitted directly into a major. A transfer student with 75 or more hours will not be permitted to enroll for courses until a major is declared.


After discussion about exceptions, an appeal process, and pre-major designations, a motion was passed to table the policy and return it to the Academic Standards Committee for further consideration.


Provost Dunn introduced Victoria Farrar-Myers, a faculty member in the Department of Political Science, who joined the Office of the Provost as a faculty administrative intern to spearhead the Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) initiative. Dr. Farrar-Myers gave a presentation explaining what the QEP is and what the facultys role will be in the QEP.


The QEP is a new part of the accreditation process required by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). The plan must be aligned with the universitys mission statement, strategic initiatives goals and statements, and must be centered around a theme designed to enhance student learning across the university. SACS has indicated that this theme must come from the faculty.


Dr. Farrar-Myers distributed the following flyer explaining the QEP.






What is a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP)?

Required as part of the reaffirmation process by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), a QEP is a carefully designed and focused course of action that addresses a well-defined issue or issues directly related to improving student learning.

What is meant by "student learning" in the QEP?

SACS defines student learning broadly in the context of the QEP. As a result, the QEP may address a wide range of topics, such as changes in students' knowledge, skills, behaviors, and/or values that may be attributable to the collegiate experience. Examples include:

Developing experiential learning Increasing student engagement in learning

Enhancing critical thinking skills Exploring technology in the curriculum

The QEPs goals and evaluation strategies must be linked to improving student learning.

What is the scope of the QEP?

The QEP may focus on a current institutional weakness; however, it can also focus on a strength that we would like to enhance. Although it can also focus on a limited population of students, it should be broad-based enough so that all academic units can participate in the plan.

How will the QEP be evaluated?

At the time of our reaffirmation, the QEP will be evaluated based on its focus, our institutional capability and commitment to implement the plan, our assessment plan and the level of campus involvement in developing the plan. After five years, the university is required to provide a progress report to SACS.

What is the facultys role in the QEP?

The development of the QEP must involve significant participation by our academic community. Most importantly, faculty are needed to help identify potential QEP topics. To facilitate input, we will use:

Surveys Open Meetings

Focus Groups Web and email solicitations


Go to
by September 29, 2005, to add your input now!




SACS Reaffirmation 2007 QEP Timeline


Fall 2005

          Campus academic community gives input on QEP topic

          SACS Leadership Team uses input from academic community to identify QEP topic

          QEP team members are selected

Spring 2006

          QEP Team refines the identified topic and completes outline of QEP

Summer 2006

          QEP Team completes initial draft of QEP

Fall 2006

          QEP Team completes final version of QEP document

Spring 2007

          SACS On-Site Review Committee conducts visit (February 26, 2007 March 2, 2007)

Fall 2007

          Commission on Colleges reaffirms UTA accreditation at Annual Meeting (December 2007)




Text Box: Please send your ideas for QEP topics to or use the QEP website at  For further information, contact Dr. Victoria Farrar-Myers at 817-272-1024.








Other Business. Provost Dunn reminded the Assembly that at the end of last year, a report from a special task force on Plus Minus Grading was circulated to be discussed this fall. The report will be circulated again and placed on the agenda for the next meeting.


Adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 2:47 p.m.


Michael K. Moore