Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 300

The Phi Kappa Phi logo

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Its chapters are on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. UT Arlington's chapter, 300, was installed on April 19, 2007.

Because membership to Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only, there is no mechanism by which an individual can request entry into the Society. Instead, invitations to membership are extended each spring to qualified junors, seniors, and graduate students (as defined in the Chapter 300 Bylaws), as well as select faculty, staff, and administrators. It should be noted, however, that an invitation does not automatically confer membership in the Soceity; to claim membership, the individual invited must explicitly accept the call to join Phi Kappa Phi.

Invitations to membership for the academic year 2012-13 will be forwarded to students by electronic mail (MavMail) in late March 2013. The next cohort of Phi Kappa Phi members will be initated to membership on Friday, April 26, at 5:30 PM in the E. H. Hereford University Center.

Unlike most other collegiate "honor societies," Phi Kappa Phi is not a student organization. Rather, it is a campus-based community of scholars drawing its members from among our university's students, staff and faculty. As such, Phi Kappa Phi is not listed as a student organization, nor does it have a faculty/staff advisor. Instead, the UT Arlington chapter is housed in the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and is led by a executive committee that is comprised of faculty and students.

Note: The University's Phi Kappa Phi web presence is currently in transition. For additional information about Phi Kappa Phi at UT Arlington, visit our (older) companion website.


Maverick Pride

Student-athletes excel on the playing field and in the classroom while competing in the Sun Belt Conference in 14 NCAA Division I sports.

Nurturing Future Leaders with a Robust Academic and Student Experience