Inside a Washington insider Teen alum amazes The singing cancer crusader
UTA Magazine
Home      Forethought      President's Message      Campus Buzz      Feature Stories      Re:Search      The Score      Alum News      Yesteryear
CASE Award Winner To Magazine Home Page
Athletics Hall of Honor inducts 4, recognizes 1967-68 swimming teams

Tom Beasley
Tom Beasley

Basketball standout Paul Renfro, softball player Brenda Woodard, baseball infielder B.G. Wilson and the late Tom Beasley, a former baseball coach and football player, were inducted into the UT Arlington Athletics Hall of Honor in September.

Beasley, who died in August, played on the national junior college championship football teams at Arlington State College (now UT Arlington) in 1956 and 1957. He graduated from ASC in 1960 and was a member of the physical education faculty from 1966-82. He was head baseball coach the first two years of the program’s existence, in 1969 and 1970.

Paul Renfro
Paul Renfro

Renfro is second in career scoring and rebounding with 1,380 points and 851 rebounds in 107 games. He holds the career mark for blocked shots with 118 from 1976-80 and the single-game record with nine blocks against Texas Wesleyan on Jan. 18, 1980.

On Feb. 19, 1979, against Southwestern Louisiana (now Louisiana-Lafayette), Renfro hit 20 of 20 free throws to set a school record. He also holds the school mark for most career free throws made (398), and he earned second-team all-Southland Conference honors his senior season.

Brenda Woodard
Brenda Woodard

Woodard is UT Arlington’s career hits leader with 288 from 1983-86. She played in 262 games and scored a record 158 runs in her four-year career. She was named the SLC Hitter of the Year in 1985 after leading the conference in batting average (.368), runs scored (37) and stolen bases (36). She led the league in stolen bases three consecutive seasons (1984-86) and finished as the school’s career leader with 124.

B.G. Wilson B.G. Wilson

A four-year letterman from 1993-96, Wilson was named to the College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-America second team in 1995 and third team in 1996. In 1995 he led the Mavericks in batting average (.360) and hits (73) and was named second-team all-Southland Conference at second base. His senior season, Wilson led the team in hits (70), runs scored (41), doubles (17) and stolen bases (6).

Also recognized were the 1967 and 1968 swimming and diving teams.

The 1967 team took fifth place at the NCAA College Division national championships with 152.5 points. The six-man contingent recorded five meet records, including five first-place finishes, two seconds and one fourth. Junior Rick Nesbit and sophomore Doug Russell each won two individual events and teamed with sophomore Ernie Siefert and junior Ed Bagot to win the 400-yard medley relay.

Russell won the 200-yard individual medley in 1:58.9. Sophomore George Deerfield had the top 50-yard freestyle time of 22 seconds and the best 100-yard backstroke at 58.2.

The 11-member 1968 team earned 35 All-America awards while finishing seventh with 89 points at the NCAA National Collegiate Swimming Championships. Nesbit won the 100-yard breaststroke (59.11) and was a member of the first-place 400-yard medley relay (3:31.53). Russell, Siefert and Charlie Smith completed the winning relay team. Russell took the national title in the 100-yard butterfly with an NCAA and NCAA meet-record time of 49.57.

— Jim Patterson

Other Stories

New and renovated space to be part of recreation facility’s multimillion-dollar makeover

Woman’s best friend

Researchers find Iraq War leaflets heavily influence public opinion

SAA wins national award

Since 1965, Distinguished Alumni have included astronauts, athletes and actors

Contact Us

502 S. Cooper St.
279 Fine Arts Building
Box 19647
Arlington, TX 76019-0647