UTA Magazine
CASE Award Winner To Magazine Home Page



Former stars join athletics hall

Ceremony also honors menís track and field teams

Volleyball player Theresa Noggler-Fangman, football standout Bob Diem, track performer Errol Byles and the 1990-92 men’s track and field teams were inducted into the Athletics Hall of Honor in September.

Theresa Noggler-Fangman

Theresa Noggler-Fangman

Noggler-Fangman was named a first-team Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women all-American during the 1981 season. UT Arlington compiled a 174-67 record over her four-year career, with the 1978 team going 50-10, winning the AIAW state tournament and finishing second in the region and ninth nationally. The Mavericks were ranked in the top 10 nationally in three of her four years (ninth in 1978, eighth in 1979, sixth in 1981).

Noggler-Fangman, who received her bachelor’s degree in management in 1983, lives on a farm near Hereford, Texas. She and her husband, Gary, have five children.

Bob Diem

Bob Diem

A three-year starter and letterman, Diem was a tri-captain and all-America guard on the 1967 football team that finished 10-1, won the Southland Conference championship and defeated North Dakota State in the Pecan Bowl to take the college division national championship. Named first-team all-Texas and all-SLC, he anchored the left side of the offensive line.

UT Arlington led the SLC in rushing offense (163.2 yards per game) his junior season and shared the SLC crown with Lamar while compiling a 6-4 record. Diem, an Arlington native and honor roll student, earned a bachelor’s degree in biology in 1968.

He is senior technical consultant for General Electric Water and Process Technologies in South Lake Tahoe, Calif. He and his wife have three children and three grandchildren.

Errol Byles

Errol Byles

Byles won the SLC 400-meter hurdles title four straight seasons, 1994-97. He also took the 1997 110-meter hurdle championship and helped the Mavericks win their eighth team title. His 50.72 still ranks among UT Arlington’s top five 400-meter hurdle performances.

He received his bachelor’s degree in management in 1996 and is regional vice president for LaQuinta Inn and Suites in Mansfield. He and his wife, Michelle, live in Mansfield with their 2-year-old son, Dominic.

The 1990-92 men’s track and field teams won both the indoor and outdoor titles each year and a cross country championship in 1992.

Then-coach Monte Stratton was named SLC Coach of the Year seven times. McClinton Neal was a five-time all-American and won the NCAA championship in the 400-meter hurdles in 1990.

Neal (400 hurdles and 110 hurdles), Joel McCray (100 meters) and Ronald Hancock (200 meters) competed in individual events at the NCAA Outdoor Championships from 1990-92. They also were part of the 1,600-meter relay team that included Joseph Sainah and Terrance Carson.

Neal and Sainah earned all-America honors during the 1990 indoor season. Neal finished fourth in the 55-meter hurdles while Sainah was fifth in the 800-meter run.

— Jim Patterson

Other Stories


Contact Us


Office of University Publications

502 S. Cooper St.
279 Fine Arts Building
Box 19647
Arlington, TX 76019-0647