UTA Magazine
CASE Award Winner To Magazine Home Page



Former stars join Hall of Honor

Heather Hoy Martin



olleyball player Heather Hoy Martin, football player Gary Lewis, administrator Bill Reeves and the 1977 softball team were inducted into the Athletics Hall of Honor in September.

Martin earned Southland Conference Freshman of the Year honors in 1994. By the time she finished her playing days in 1997, she held four career records and landed among the leaders in several single-season categories.

She was first-team All-SLC three times and SLC Player of the Year her senior season. That year she led the conference with 643 kills, the second-highest single-season total in school history.
Martin, who graduated in 1999 with a bachelor’s degree in social work, coaches high school volleyball in Denver, Colo.

Gary Lewis


Lewis was a Mavericks tight end from 1977-80. Already a second-team All-SLC pick during his junior year, he capped his career by catching 32 passes his senior season for a conference-leading 711 yards.

His 22.2 yards per catch was tops in the SLC and led to Lewis being selected to the All-SLC first team. He finished his career with 66 catches for 1,431 yards—a 21.7 yards-per-catch average—and nine touchdowns.

Lewis played for the Green Bay Packers from 1981-84 before a leg injury ended his career. He owns a ranch and raises cattle and horses near his hometown of Daingerfield, Texas.

Bill Reeves


Dr. Reeves has been associated with the Athletics Department for more than 40 years and was inducted into the Southland Conference Hall of Fame in May.

A player for three years in the Arlington State College (now UT Arlington) men’s basketball program, he graduated in 1962 and coached three seasons in high school before returning to his alma mater as an assistant basketball coach in 1966. He became administrative assistant to the director of athletics in 1971.

Two years after finishing his Ph.D. at North Texas in 1973, Reeves became UT Arlington athletics director. He stepped down in 1989 but remained as compliance coordinator until 1996. From 1996-2007 he was senior associate athletics director and compliance coordinator. He is now the University’s student-athlete eligibility certification officer. He was named a UT Arlington Distinguished Alumnus in 1996.

Hall of Honor member and longtime baseball coach Butch McBroom led the softball team to its second consecutive trip to the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women National Tournament—the equivalent of today’s College World Series—in 1977.

Led by junior Brenda Marshall, herself a Hall of Honor member, the Mavericks posted a 33-8 record and won the regional title in San Angelo.

UT Arlington began the Hall of Honor in 1984. It now includes 84 athletes, coaches and teams.

— Darrin Scheid

Other Stories


(Winter 2004 to present)

Contact Us


Office of University Publications

502 S. Cooper St.
279 Fine Arts Building
Box 19647
Arlington, TX 76019-0647