UTA Magazine
CASE Award Winner To Magazine Home Page



Buzz Cuts

Summary of noteworthy campus happenings


Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society, established a chapter at UT Arlington in April. The organization annually inducts approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. Founding members of the UT Arlington chapter include President James D. Spaniolo and Provost Dana Dunn. Since its founding in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than one million members, including former President Jimmy Carter and best-selling author John Grisham. The UT Arlington group marks the society’s 300th chapter.


Education Assistant Professor Eva Yerendé has been named a 2007-08 Fulbright Scholar Award recipient. She will teach at the University of Kankan in the Republic of Guinea in West Africa and research the use of African languages as languages of instruction in formal and informal settings. Dr. Yerendé joined the UT Arlington faculty in 2004 with a primary assignment in the Center for Bilingual and ESL Education in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Established in 1946, the Fulbright is the U.S. government’s flagship international exchange program.


UT Arlington has selected the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel Maus, A Survivor’s Tale for its 2007-08 OneBook shared reading experience. Written by Art Spiegelman, the book follows the writer’s father, Vladek Spiegelman, from the beginning of the Nazi persecution of the Jews in Poland, through his years at Auschwitz with his wife, Anja. An integral part of OneBook, launched last year with The Kite Runner, is a lecture series, UT Arlington Conversations, drawing on a theme from the book. The theme drawn from Maus is prejudice, not just in the context of the Holocaust, but in all its manifestations. Faculty are encouraged to make prejudice a topic in their courses and to plan speakers, lecture series, panel discussions and other events to highlight the theme. Online: www.uta.edu/onebook


Master of science in nursing graduates achieved 100 percent pass rates this year on three national certification exams. All School of Nursing M.S.N. graduates taking the Adult Nurse Practitioner, Family Nurse Practitioner, and Family Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse Practitioner exams passed compared with national averages ranging from 78 percent to 93 percent. Of those taking the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner exam, 94.4 percent passed compared to the national average of 85.6 percent.


The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors named The Shorthorn the state’s best daily college newspaper for the fourth consecutive year. “This award speaks great things about the students who stepped up to top Shorthorn positions to lead a very inexperienced staff,” said Lloyd Goodman, UT Arlington Student Publications director. The award, for newspapers published during 2006, was announced in March at the Texas APME convention in San Antonio. David Ok and Princess McDowell were Shorthorn editors in chief during 2006. The Texas APME is the state’s largest professional journalism organization.


The National Association of Social Workers has named social work Professor James Callicutt a Social Work Pioneer. The Pioneer Program recognizes professionals who have achieved distinction through practice, teaching, writing, research, program development, administration, advocacy, legislation and election to public office. Pioneers have contributed to “the betterment of the human condition” and produced a sustained record of achievement for 25 years. Dr. Callicutt retired this year after 40 years on the UT Arlington faculty.


The Texas Historical Commission recently presented the T.R. Fehrenbach Book Award to history Associate Professor Roberto Treviño for The Church in the Barrio: Mexican American Ethno-Catholicism in Houston. The honor included a commemorative glass and stone award and $1,000. Dr. Treviño is assistant director of UT Arlington’s Center for Mexican American Studies.

Other Stories


(Winter 2004 to present)

Contact Us


Office of University Publications

502 S. Cooper St.
279 Fine Arts Building
Box 19647
Arlington, TX 76019-0647