Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

IRB Meeting Schedule & Roster


 *New protocols must be submitted by 5:00PM on the deadline to be scheduled for review at the corresponding IRB meeting date. Protocols submitted after the deadline will be scheduled for review at the IRB meeting the following month.

The two-week deadlines listed above are the cutoff date for meetings, but it is highly recommended to submit your protocol earlier than the deadline.  This will allow Regulatory Services staff enough time to review your application and work with you to make any necessary revisions, and to ensure that the application is complete and fully prepared for IRB review prior to the meeting.  Last-minute submissions lacking the appropriate information run the risk of being tabled at the IRB meeting, extending the review and approval time.  Please allow Regulatory Services to help you prepare an approvable application!!

For more information, please also see UTA IRB Operating Procedures.


Full-time members
IRB Chair: Deborah Behan, PhD, RN-BC, Nursing
IRB Vice-chair: Lauri Jensen-Campbell, PhD, Psychology
George Alexandrakis, PhD, Bioengineering
Ann Cavallo, PhD, Curriculum & Instruction
Pastor Daniel Duran, Community Member
Greg Frazier, PhD, Business
Mark Haykowsky, PhD, Nursing & Kinesiology
Ramon Ruiz, Environmental Health & Safety
Anne Nordberg, PhD, Social Work
Kay Smith, Community Member
Alternative members
Paul Fadel, PhD Kinesiology
Merja Karwoski, RBP, Environmental Health & Safety
Vijayan Pillai, PhD, Social Work

For questions relating to animal subjects research, please contact the Office of Regulatory Services at