Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Dr. Mandal's lab

VP for Research

The Office of the Vice President for Research (VPR) is responsible for the integration and enhancement of research activities across UTA’s and multiple research centers. VPR leads university-wide strategic growth activities, including multidisciplinary groups in environmental sustainability, innovation, energy systems, and biosciences. 

Find Research Expertise Across disciplines

Across disciplines, we are actively pursuing answers.

Search Expertise

News & Events

Interdisciplinary Research Program established to promote collaboration across fields

UT Arlington’s new Interdisciplinary Research Program will provide funding of up to $20,000 to faculty research teams representing different disciplines.

The initiative is intended to advance interdisciplinary research in alignment with the four guiding themes of the University's strategic plan: Health and the Human Condition, Sustainable Urban Communities, Global Environmental Impact, and Data-Driven Discovery.

The program will help foster interactions and new, preliminary research across campus to enable teams to effectively compete for major external research grant funding.

Duane Dimos, vice president for research, will host an information session 2:30-4 p.m. Tuesday-Wednesday, May 19-20, in Room 245E of the Business Building.

Requests for proposal (RFP) submissions are accepted through 4 p.m. Monday, June 15

Faculty ISO new discussion site on Blackboard

A faculty discussion board—Faculty ISO—is available on Blackboard and has forums on the four themes of UTA's Strategic Plan: Health and the Human Condition, Data-Driven Discovery, Sustainable Urban Communities, and Global Environmental Impact.

The forums can help you find a guest lecturer, service learning expertise, or an expert in teaching large classes.

To access Faculty ISO, log in to Blackboard using your NetID and password. Add Faculty ISO to your organizations in Blackboard. Contact Blackboard Support for technical assistance.

Writing and Designing NSF Proposals

Monday, June 22. Writing and Designing NSF ProposalsA one-day program geared on winning research proposals to the National Science Foundation (NSF). Register online. $375 with discounts available. 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m., Houston Marriott Medical Center, Houston.

Also, Monday, July 13Webinar 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 24. Writing and Designing for National Institutes of Health Proposals, Tuesday, July 14. Grant Training Center.

Research Enhancement Program Grant Recipients

Research Enhancement Program grants are given specifically for the support of research and professional creative activity. For more information please visit the Research Enhancement Program page by clicking the link.

This years recipients are:

Maureen Courtney, College of Nursing and Health Innovation

Christy Spivey, Department of Economics

Kyungsuk Yum, Department of Material Science and Engineering

Patryk Babiracki, Department of History

Desiree Henderson, Department of English

Noelle Field, School of Social Work

Ling Xu, School of Social Work

Joseph Ngai, Department of Physics

Daniel Cavanagh, Department of Music

Professor Heekyeong Park, Department of Psychology

Writing & Designing NSF Proposals Workshop
Writing Winning Grants for NSF
July 13, 2015
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Houston, TX

Sponsored by: The Grant Training Center

This one-day comprehensive workshop is geared for those who wish to submit winning research proposals to the National Science Foundation (NSF). It is taught by experienced faculty who have received various NSF grants and serve as evaluators on NSF review panels.

Participants will understand how to navigate the FastLane, focus on the key sections of successful proposals and demonstrate that their projects merit the excellence and innovation that bring them to the top of other submissions. All sessions engage the attendees in interactive exercises, writing, lectures and discussions so that all participants will leave the class understanding how to research, write and develop their specific project.

Areas to be covered include the:

1. Overall strategic plan of grant-writing
2. Types of awards and NSF funding, including what to look for in a grant application
3. Proposal preparation process and submission mechanisms
4. Characteristics, content and function of the various pieces of the proposal, including: hypothesis, methods, outcomes, broader implications, evaluation, timelines and budgets
5. Secret to organizing and writing “Merit Review Criteria”

Participants will learn how to:

1. Compose the pieces of an NSF Research Grant Proposal
2. Understand the inner workings of NSF’s Peer Review System and the rating scores
3. Develop and write the approach and “Broader Impacts” section
4. Package superior proposal submissions
5. Avoid the fatal flaws of a grant
6. Effectively write and approach resubmissions


Space is limited, and since this class fills-up quickly, it is on a first-come, first-serve basis.
Workshop Fee: $375.00 (including tuition, materials, certificate of completion, and continental breakfast)

There is a $25/person discount available for groups or a $135 discount for those who take both the NIH and NSF workshops. Only the highest discount will be applied.

To register: Click Here
Or call us toll free at (866)-704-7268 or (571) 257-8864

Additionally, a Writing & Designing NSF Proposals Workshop is also going to be held at Houston Marriott Medical Center, on July 14, 2015.
Get a discount of $135 on registration for both workshops
Each person can register for either NIH or NSF.If a person registers for both, the price is $615 (discount of $135). * To receive this discount, select the NSF/NIH combo option on the registration form.
For participants who have already registered for the NIH, this discount also applies if you register for the NSF workshop.


July 13, 2015
Houston, TX

"Writing & Designing NSF Proposals", Workshop
Houston Marriott Medical Center

July 14, 2015
Houston, TX

"Writing & Designing NIH Proposals", Workshop
Houston Marriott Medical Center

Can't make it??
Join us for an online webinar!


June 24, 2015
10:00 - 4:30 pm (EST)

"Writing & Designing NSF Proposals" Webinar

Houston Marriott Medical Center is not endorsing or sponsoring the activities conducted by The Grant Training Center.

Meet Our Staff

Dr. Duane B. Dimos
Dr. Duane B. Dimos
Vice President

Jeremy Forsberg
Jeremy Forsberg
Assistant Vice President

VPR Organization
VPR Organization
(Download Powerpoint)