PhD UANL History

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Social Work program at The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) was initiated in 1983. Prior to 1983, the Graduate School of Social Work, the College of Business Administration, and the Institute of Urban Studies, were jointly involved in operating an interdisciplinary PhD in Administration degree program. In 1997 the School started a dual PhD in International Comparative Social Welfare Policy with the Universidad Autónoma De Nuevo León (UANL) in Monterrey, México to provide the first PhD program in Social Work in México.

This program was made possible as a result of the initiative, vision and support of the administration of both universities, the school’s deans at the time and the social work faculty of both institutions. A driving force behind the creation of this international program at UTA was Professor Federico Souflé, PhD. His counterpart at UANL was Mta. Irene Cantú Reyna, director of the UANL Social Work Faculty at the time.

Other faculty and administrators who were highly instrumental in the creation of this program were: Dr. Ricardo Hill Acosta, member of UANL’s graduate academic committee, Dr. Manuel Ribeiro Ferreira, professor and member of UANL’s graduate academic committee, Dr. Raúl Eduardo López Estrada, professor and member of UANL’s graduate academic committee, Dr. Doreen Elliott, professor and Dr. Richard F. Dangel of UTA.