Skip to main content

Curriculum, Research, & Community Engagement


The Curriculum, Research, and Community Engagement work group promotes sustainability as an intellectual focus in the University's academic affairs. It encourages faculty, students and others in the University and beyond to seek compelling insights and creative solutions to the many problems posed by sustainability.


This work group seeks to foster an invigorated intellectual community to address sustainability issues and local environmental awareness. Faculty workshops, graduate student work, new course and module development as well as cross-disciplinary dialogue are key efforts for this group.

Sustainability Minor

The University of Texas at Arlington School of Urban and Public Affairs along with the working Group on Curriculum, Research and Community Engagement are administering a minor in sustainability which began in fall 2010. The minor in sustainability will provide credentials in the field of sustainability to students in a variety of majors.

The sustainability minor will require 18 credit hours. In addition to the core course, the minor requires 15 hours of approved courses taken in each of three areas, liberal arts; natural sciences and engineering; and urban and public affairs and architecture. In geology, for example, sustainability related courses deal with climate change and global warming. In English there are special topics classes that address environmental literature.

Biology Professor James P. Grover, a member of the University Sustainability Committee's work group focused on curriculum emphasizes that the minor will be beneficial to students like the science major who wants to work in environmental science or oversight with a regulatory agency and the liberal arts major who wants to work in broad areas of public policy.

Sustainability Across the Curriculum Symposium

The Sustainability Across the Curriculum Symposium, which will be held each year in the Spring will feature faculty and graduate students discussing what sustainability means for their discipline and their own research. The symposium will foster discussions of sustainability research across different disciplines and highlight the research of UTA faculty and doctoral students. All undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and staff are invited. This symposium extends this year's One Book discussions on the theme of sustainability by providing a wide range of topics, perspectives, and research projects that help us, in Bill McKibben's words, develop "a new mental model of the possible." - Hosted by the Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES) and the Curriculum, Research, and Community Engagement Work Group of the University Sustainability Committee.

Committee Members

Chair: Chris Morris, Associate Professor, History

Jim Grover, Professor, Biology

Frank Foss, Assistant Professor, Chemistry

Melanie Sattler, Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering

Susanna Khavul, Assistant Professor, Management

Fred Forgey, Executive Director, College of Business/SUPA

Ishfaq Ahmad, Professor, Computer Science & Engineering

Stacy Alaimo, Associate Professor, English

Phil Cohen, Dean/Vice Provost, Office of Graduate Studies

Michan Connor, Assistant Professor, Urban and Public Affairs

Wanda Dye, Assistant Professor, Architecture

Richard Greene, Adjunct Associate Professor, Urban & Public Affairs

Douglas Klahr, Associate Professor, Architecture

Antoinette Nelson, Librarian

Peggy Semingson, Assistant Professor, College of Education

Shirley Theriot, Director, Center for Community Services

David Wallace, Graduate Student

James Welch, Assistant Professor, Urban and Public Affairs, Interdisciplinary Studies