Skip to main content

Waste Reduction

recycle
   

There are two aspects to waste reduction on campus: recycling and reducing material use. Recycling is coordinated through Office of Facilities Management and the Waste Reduction workgroup. The group also works with academic and administrative departments throughout the campus to find ways to reduce the unnecessary use of materials. Reducing resource use saves money, but recycling saves money too by reducing landfill costs. Waste reduction relies to a great extent on individual choices such as recycling, double-sided printing, reusing furniture, and switching to paperless forms of communication.

Where do I recycle on campus? Recycling Locations Map

Scope

UT Arlington's broad commitment to recycling accommodates paper, cardboard, plastic, aluminum, printer cartridges, ink jet cartridges, scrap metal, oil, oil filters, photo fixer, fluorescent lamps, ballasts, batteries, alkaline batteries, and technotrash (CDs, DVDs, audio tapes, video tapes, and diskettes).

Want To Reduce Your Carbon Footprint! 

Make UT Arlington a leader in recycling.  Make the UTA Green Pledge by pledging to use the recycling bins around campus, lead by example in my workplace or school by recycling more, use a reusable water bottle to "Fill it, not landfill" and many other pledges.  Fill out the plege card today and help UTA become a leader in recycling.

Click here for the UTA Green Pledge Card

University Policy

Recycling Policy

Maverick Office Green Team

The Maverick Office Green Team goes beyond the typical environmental initiatives that many individuals, offices and departments at UT Arlington already support. This program takes a coordinated, long-term and campus-wide approach, providing resources, helpful guidelines and on-going consultation as needed. It also provides recognition to outstanding Maverick Office Green Teams including a reception with the President.

Recycling & Composting

UT Arlington is an award-winning leader in recycling and composting. UT Arlington's broad commitment to recycling accommodates paper, cardboard, plastic, aluminum, printer cartridges, scrap metal, oil, fluorescent lamps, batteries, technotrash and much more. And the University's composting program is not only practical and environmentally-friendly but is an outstanding learning tool and model for others considering similar programs. Learn more about UT Arlington's recycling and composting program.

Committee Members

Chair: Eric Johnson, Recycling Coordinator, University Center Operations
ericj@uta.edu

Lorrie Anderle, Recycling Coordinator, City of Arlington
Lorrie.Anderle@arlingtontx.gov

Mari Duncan, Director, Residence Life
mari@uta.edu

Michael Mayhugh, Head Resident, Apartment Resident Life
msmayhugh@uta.edu

Brooke Silkey Kapur, Graduate Student
brooke.silkeykapur@mavs.uta.edu

Justin Lerberg, Graduate Student
jlerberg@uta.edu

Kristine M. Behrhorst, Administrative Assistant, Research Administration
behrhorst@uta.edu

Lisa M. Cagle, Pharmacy Tech, Student Health Center
lcagle@uta.edu

Doris O. Davies, Assistant Building Attendant Leader, Facilities Management
ddavies@uta.edu

Charlotte Duncan, Development Assistant, School of Social Work
duncanc@uta.edu

Asmar Eyvazova, Inst. Tech. Spec III, Distance Education
asmar@uta.edu

Laura Warren, Safety Specialist II, Environmental Health & Safety
lwarren@uta.edu

Shelley D. Worley, Support Specialist II, Department of Mathematics
worley@uta.edu